You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: About me - Nate Alex Hart

I too am a self-proclaimed side hustler. I tutor and do part time work from home for another company, and of course, I've been writing on here lately. It's my dream to only side hustle and stop with the 9-5. I'll follow you--maybe we can share side hustler tips and tricks!

Sort:  

Yes that sounds awesome! I am right there with you on becoming 100% hustle. It's not that I hate work, but I would be so much happier working for myself.

I’ve only been here a few weeks, but I think I’m starting to get the hang of it. I’ll give you a few tips to start out, from one side hustler to another:

  1. You can pick up a lot of momentum quickly by buying some STEEM and powering up right off the bat, upvoting your own stuff, and buying upvotes. You don’t have to do any of that stuff. I didn’t as a matter of principle and it’s worked out well.
  2. Despite what people tell you, writing quality content really can pay off.
  3. Check out the #newbieresteemday initiative. Those people are really great and will help you get some followers and some eyeballs on your stuff as long as you’re not posting garbage. Also, they always have contests running where you can win a little bit of SBD for things like commenting back on a post. I have them to thank for everything.
  4. Make friends. Leave lots of comments, but, you know, real comments. Not just commenting for the sake of commenting.
  5. Don’t vote more than 10-20 times a day so you don’t burn out your voting power (I made this mistake).

Thanks for those tips, especially the newbieresteemday. Do you recommend powering up every post you make? I haven't read that far into it yet, but I'm not afraid to invest a little on the front in if it will help on the back end. My writing skills are admittedly sucky, but I do think my content will be interesting to a fairly large target audience.

What happens if you burn out your voting power?

Thanks again for your help so far!

I recommend powering up as much as you can as quickly as you can, yeah. STEEM is down right now, so if you're going to invest now wouldn't be the worst time, but you'll need a lot to really make a difference. And your writing skills aren't sucky! If you want to improve, there is a woman involved in the #newbieresteemday initiative in the discord channel who will help out with proofreading.

Voting power decreases with every vote you cast on a scale of 0-100%, with about 1-2% deterioration per vote. People say you should stay above 80%. It takes a day to replenish 20%. You can check where your voting power is ether on steemd.com or on steemstats.com.

Oh nice. Thank you for the answers and advice so far. I'll definitely look into getting some steem from binance soon. I'm still getting used to the interface and navigating between different posts, but it's starting to make a little more sense.

What do you mean by the discord channel?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57298.55
ETH 3059.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29