Introducing Myself

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

My name is Michelle and I live in Spokane Valley, Washington. I was introduced to Steemit by my friend @kiroshi. You should read his work, he specializes in journal entries for his adventures in roleplaying games!


I have won two local awards for writing; one from SpoCon in 2010 for Best Short Story and one from North Idaho College for the Lori Wallin Award for Outstanding Creative Writer for the 2016-2017 school year. I'm not bragging, since that's literally the only thing I have won awards for in my life.

I’m currently a college student with a part-time job. I’m a volunteer secretary for our local Science Fiction and Fantasy convention (www.spocon.org)!

I’m pursuing my Associates Degree in General Studies and would like to advance to a degree in Creative Writing at Eastern Washington University. I'm currently published in two places: a NaNoWriMo collection of stories titled And Then What Happened? and in the North Idaho College literary magazine Trestle Creek Review issues 30 and 31.

I have one cat and one boyfriend. When I’m not stressing out over homework, I like to listen to audio books, watch anime, play video games (PS4/Xbox One/PC), write, work on my website (or a dozen others), or go on walks.

I'm Princess of the English Club at North Idaho College (the equivalent to the Vice President but we like to get creative with titles: we're writers!). I also have a button maker and make buttons under the title Distracted Dragon.



I’m taking an Introduction to Poetry class this semester so it’s likely I’ll be posting more poetry than I ever imagined possible. When I write, I really prefer fiction of the dark fantasy/science fiction variety. I’m also taking an Independent Study fiction workshop where I’ll be working on a rural fantasy story that I hope to share with you all. For now, I’ll be uploading some older story chapters, poems and snippets of my life.

And probably lots of pictures of my cat because he is adorable.

And kind of a jerk.

This is Boo Boo.

(Here he is looking at Mae from A Night in the Woods on PS4 and not sure what he thinks about their resemblance. If you own a Playstation 4, seriously, spend the $20 and play the game. It is amazing.)

Currently Playing
Starbound on PC (Steam: bloodgate_heir)

Currently Listening To / Reading
Good Omens by Neil Gaiman and the late Sir Terry Pratchett.
Prior to that I just finished listening to American Gods which was my first experience with a Neil Gaiman novel.

Currently Watching
*
On episode 5 of 8 of The Defenders
* Have not seen the finale of Game of Thrones yet
Our friends have HBO and they're out of town for another... 10? days. So I am waiting. Please don't spoil it!
* Half way through Season One of Outlander
* On episode 3 of Handmaiden's Tale
*
Somewhere in the beginning of Season 2 of HOUSE, M.D.
* Somewhere in the middle of Season 3 of Adventure Time.
* On episode 3 of Space Dandy.

What are you currently reading or watching? If it's Game of Thrones, don't tell me!

This is Mason and I. Hello :)

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @malisyn! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Welcome! Gave you a follow!
tenor.gif

Thank you! For your choice of Jimmy Fallon, I too, will follow ;)

Welcome to Steem @malisyn I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Thank you! @bottymcbotface What a curious handle you have.

Congratulations @malisyn! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote
Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome :)!

sup.gif

Here a few tips for starters snce you probably won't get any advice from those who comment under here, here's what I gathered thus far.
It's tough to make money at first so if that's your main cause to be on here grind that into your head straight away, that doesn't mean you shouldn't post content, you should, but enganging with others in the comment sections to grow your following is your best bet. Which categories?

Probably the introduce yourself one and the photography section but you can choose things that you have knowledge about too and then go from there just know that there is a lot of crap on here so plowing through that just to connect with others can be tough. Cheers.

Thank you! That's all very helpful :)

Welcome @malisyn aboard the steemit express. This is a great platform to express yourself just like any other social media outlet except this one pays its users for interacting with each other. Post good content and your rewards can be limitless but always stay true to yourself.

Checkout this post and give me some feedback on it
CIRCLE OF FRIENDS

@circleoffriends
#circleoffriends
#minnowsupport
#cof

Welcome! I want to read American Gods, I'm so in love with the show! I'm currently just waiting for American Horror Story and South Park to come back. While I wait I'm just watching reruns of Wilfred.

Thank you! For once I wanted to read the book BEFORE I watched the series! The audio book is even narrated by Neil Gaiman himself and it's just lovely. It's super weird, and I'm very curious to see how it stacks up to the series. You're awfully brave to watch American Horror Story! I do love South Park :) Is Wilfred the show about the dog..?

Yes!!! It cracks me up 😂

Welcome to steemit! Enjoy!

Aw, thank you! I am enjoying it so far!

hi, welcome to steemit C=

Hello there! Thank you very much!

Hello dear, welcome. Hope you succeed. I'll follow your page. Hope you can follow me

Thank you, I will!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56934.21
ETH 3091.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38