You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Day I Died - An Introduction

holy crap, glad to see you are still with us after that story! did the cardiac arrest have anything to do with the surgery? my best friends mom had the one where they actually staple your stomach done back when it first became a thing 20 some odd years ago. she did not have a good time with it.

Sort:  

Nope. I died because my Potassium and Magnesium levels went below a 2.0.
They wanted me to focus on 100 grams of protein daily, so I drank Muscle Milks.
They never emphasized that I should be drinking Gatorade's for the nutrients.
I had one on occasion, but I was so focused on hitting my 100 gram daily goal, that it wasn't my priority.

That joke was on me, eh?

Your mom had her stomach stapled, from the looks of it. That was the big thing in the 90s & 00s. Then came the Gastric Bypass. I had a newer procedure, called a Vertical Sleeve Gastrectomy, where they totally reshaped my stomach. It was all done laproscopically, so it sounds much more intense than it was.

I'm still not mentally adjusted to this new gut. The mental game is much harder than the physical. Hopefully, your friend's mom is doing ok now. Thanks for dropping a note.

Holy crap, how could they miss an important instruction like that? When your stomach is resized down, its hard to take in all that liquid. I cant blame you for being focused on protein when what you're ingesting is such a small amount to begin with compared to what you're used to. It was my best friends mother, but I spent a lot of time at her house during that period. They accidentally stapled it too small the first time so nothing made it to her stomach, stapled it completely shut the second time and by the third time wasnt able to hold stitches because itd been opened so many times. My poor friend had to pack her moms wound every day. Thankfully, shes doing much better now. Finally. Mental is always harder than physical! Your body can do it, its your mind that has other ideas. One really small, but simple change that helped my friends mom was buying smaller plates. No joke. Loading up a huge ass plate with one chicken wing bc thats all you can fit in the adjustment period is super depressing! Anyways, I wish you lots of luck on the Steemit journey - browsing through your comments, I think you should do great. But then again, I know nothing about crypto or Steem....but I like your humor. Cant wait to meet in person at a Socal Steemit meet up some day soon xo

Yeah, I'm hoping for a proper (non-hiking) meetup sooner, rather than later. When I tried to contact the doctor, after I recovered, they refused to even consider what I was telling them. They gave great care up until after I flew back home, but once I was back in Tulsa, they wrote me off. Rather than go to war with them over changing their outpatient checklists, I opted to just go about my life, recover and focus on what I can do versus what others do to me. I'm supposed to avoid stress inducing bullshit and speaking to them ever again was a stresser, so I've moved away from it. I'm just focusing on improving my reputation score, writing decent content and figuring out the best ways to get to whale status, so I can help other people that are writing decent articles and playing fair. I was hoping to go to the convention in Las Vegas (4/13-4/15), but I won't have the $ to pay for trans there, a room, etc. Costs too much and didn't get enough notice to try to make it happen. My hope is that there will be some decent SoCal meetups and maybe a few conferences in DTLA soon. I want to continue to learn about this stuff, but I'm "ballin' on a budget" these days.

Great way to move on and concentrate on what matters most - YOU! I can relate, I was an angry NYer for far too long, always letting everyone else's negative moods make mine worse. Las Vegas is an expensive city, to boot! Are you going to the San Diego one at Starbucks this wknd?

No. As much as I want to meet errrrbody, I can't make the trek from Covina to SD. If I plan in advance, I may take the train or something. Still doing tests to figure out why I have to take more naps than a toddler. Docs won't let me drive more than a few hours at a time.

Yeah, its a pretty decent trek. I like naps, but definitely not on a train. At least not the ones from NYC! Maybe there is someone else coming from your area you could carpool with? I think theres another in LA on the 15th! Ive got another event for my pots that day, otherwise @nutinbutdatruth and I would have tried to go.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62213.63
ETH 2420.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59