Is there any interest in a Quantum Mechanics lessons series?

in #introduceyourself8 years ago

Hi everybody!

Thank you beforehand for taking the time to read this :)

Who am I?

I'm a graduate student in the field of theoretical Chemistry (which is mostly physics). I have been a TA for three years in 4 different courses (gave some more than once). Recently, I was tempted to start a blog. The Steemit platform seems like the best place to publish quality content right now. And the fact that one can be rewarded for it is very interesting. You know, something something student loans.

My offer

As a technologically literate crowd, I assume some of you are interested in Physics! My question to you is therefore:

Is there interest in quality content about Quantum Mechanics? I aim to cover the equivalent of an undergraduate course. I have not yet had the opportunity to TA for such a class and Steemit actually pays much better from what I've seen! I believe that anybody can learn anything, given that they put the effort. Will you let me teach you a thing or two?

The format

A very important technical detail would be to have support for MathJax on Steemit. Otherwise, the use of mathematical equations will be quite difficult and the pedagogy might suffer. I could use images in the worst case.

As previously mentioned, I'd like to cover the equivalent of a first year undergraduate quantum mechanics course. My own perspective would be a little bit different than someone coming from pure Physics though. I would thus mix in some Chemistry lessons.

I do not want to set the format in stone, but I feel that it is important to keep things relatively short. If you wanted to read lenghty treatises on Quantum Mechanics, you would be in the library.

Your answer

Since I'm considering doing this instead of TAing, I need a relatively clear response that indeed, the community would like to learn Quantum Mechanics from and with me. So I'll have to gauge the reception from the "upvotes" (not sure that's what you call them here) this post gets. I just hope it doesn't go completely under the radar because I'm sure we would both benefit from such an experiment. Teaching a subject is a very humbling learning experience.

Thank you, and I hope to hear from you!

Sort:  

I would love to learn what you have learned.

It would be my pleasure to help you, ted. Can you upvote this post for visibility please? I have a feeling it will sink rapidly heh.

@mablap, I love physics. I'm a software engineer now, but the last time I went to school it was as an undergraduate physics major. The interest may not be large here yet, but it's certainly there and will grow just as the STEEM userbase does. Some of us would appreciate you sharing any specialized knowledge you have.

Hi dennis, I will try to get the Steemit devs to add support for MathJax. Then I can write a nice first lesson!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61129.24
ETH 2376.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54