You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Your unaverage Korean South African

Welcome to steemit @sangdoze; what an interesting 'introduceyourself' post! I read through the comments here and some of my questions have been answered, but I wondered if there was a big Korean population in South Africa? That is not your average Korean story for sure haha

I'm one of the judges in the Pay it Forward Contest where @macoolette featured your post. You are more than welcome to join us next week with an entry of your own if you'd like :) All the rules can be found at the contest page. Being new, it's also a great place for you to meet new people and develop a community of your own.

I think many of us would love to hear the story ( or many stories) of how it was growing up in South Africa as a Korean boy and how it feels being back "home". I taught English in Canada for many years, so I totally understand your decision not to pay International fees to study in the US or Canada for that matter. it really is absurd, isn't it. I remember wanting to study in California, but being from Canada, I too would have had to pay international fees ... that is many years ago, but it was still equally absurd!

I know I'm dumping piles on you here today, but I'd also like to invite you to join @asapers, a group which focuses on quality, unnoticed posts (and being new, trust me, yours will begin as "unnoticed" :) Most do!). We also regularly publish READ me ASAP, where we showcase our members' posts and they receive a percentage of the post payout. Plus, it's another great way to meet new people because there's a place where you can share your own posts, but you need to comment and upvote two other member's posts; the plan being "they" will come visit you when they see that you've appreciated their content.

I'm guessing that's plenty for now, seeing that I've written a short story here haha If you ever have any questions, I'd be happy to help you out. Again, Welcome to steemit! :)

Sort:  

Hey Lynn, thanks for the warm welcome! I’ll definitely look into an entry in the pay it forward contest, as well as @asapers
I’ll also look into writing and letting others know about my experiences as a Korean in South Africa! Thanks for the great content ideas :)

You are most welcome @sangdoze :) And you know where to find me if you ever need anything. HOpe you stick around; there's a pretty big turnover rate here, just so you know. It can get a wee bit discouraging, especially in the beginning, but once you develop your own community, it's well worth it ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64741.88
ETH 3457.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55