Introducing myself – The strange, the horrible, the future

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

100_3486.JPG

Hello all Steemians. I've arrived recently and would just like to tell you a little about myself.

The Strange

At first glance, I’m just an ordinary person but dig a bit deeper and you’ll find a few surprises. For example, I hibernate in the summer. Yes, summer. I hate hot weather and I don’t handle it well. When everybody else jumps from joy because the sun shines I cry a little. And when everybody else walks around with downward glances because it’s cold or raining I jump with joy. I’d rather eat sour worms than ice-cream. Well, I’m a bit allergic to milk protein anyway but despite that...I don’t really like ice-cream. Whaaaat?? Who doesn’t like ice-cream?

The horrible

Anyway, during my life I had a lot of challenges I had to overcome. It was always just me and my mom. I grew up very poor and a lot of times we didn’t know if we would have enough food for tomorrow. In order to put food on the table, my mom had to work long hours and I remember seeing her very little. Clothes were a luxury and usually made by my grandmother or donated by a charity.

When I was 13 years old I was violently attacked and hospitalized for two weeks. After that, I was sent to a rehabilitation centre in Johannesburg (South Africa) in order to learn how to cope being in a wheelchair. Doctors said I will never be able to walk again. But a miracle happened and today I can walk again. Unfortunately, my left hand didn’t heal and it still can’t open completely. I still have pain in my neck every day, my balance is bad and I can’t run or jump. But I’m still eternally grateful that I can walk. It’s such a gift we can easily take for granted. There were a few other challenges as well but I won’t go into that today.

The Future

How did I land here? My husband is a software developer and he introduced me to Steemit. He knows I love writing so he suggested I write a few articles and see what happens. I’m still a bit confused as to how everything works here but I’m learning a lot from him. I’m sure I’ll become an expert soon. Other than that, I studied to become a teacher but I hated the teaching environment I was in. After I got married I resigned and I’ve tried a whole lot of things online, for example, learning HTML and CSS through Codecademy which actually helps with some of the editing on Steemit. It looked so complicated that I thought I won’t be able to do it but it turned out much easier than expected. Currently, I’m teaching Afrikaans on YouTube. If you are interested in learning Afrikaans feel free to check it out here: LovingLanguage. At this stage, it’s only for beginners.

Well, that’s all from me. I hope to write articles that will add value to your life or will just be encouraging or inspirational. If I made you smile or cry (if it’s a really sad topic) then I’ve reached my goal. Thank you so much for taking the time to learn a bit more about us.

This is my husband and me and we are currently living in the beautiful Cape Town, South Africa.

100_3190.JPG

Sort:  

Welcome to family :)

Welcome To Steemit! @luze, I hope you find the platform useful for your ideas and posts. Heres is a link to a video of Andrew Levine that helped me understand steemit a lot better Video Good luck!

Welcome to Steem @luze I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Wow awesome post !! :) Woud love to see more Your account was recently created so I thought I'd say hi and welcome you. This post deserves an upvote and full steem ahead! As you are new to steemit, getting those first upvotes are gonna be hard so maybe you want to try Steemfollower where you can earn up to 5x more steem than just upvoting by yourself! It's a simple and safe vote exchange that is free to use. I have also made this post where I explain the site in more depth and a great tutorial as well. Have a nice day and lets earn more together. Also, you can follow me with more updated posts :)

Your story is an inspiration. But I still can't get past you not liking ice cream. That's just not right. Welcome!

I'm glad it inspired you. Haha too bad about the ice cream :-)

Welcome to steemit. Want to get upvote and follow, I'm ready to help you!

Since you have just joined the steemit community, it will be difficult to receive many upvotes so you have to be patient with it. Good luck here and help each other. thank you

Welcome here Luze !! Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me at @khunpoom

Welcome to Steemit! It's good time to start create Steemit better :)

welcome....i have upvoted you and following give me the best @kunani

Hi my friend , welcome to Steemit. I am religious leader here on steemit, if you have any need to read God's word or receive a prayer, comment and my team will keep you in prayer. I do hope that you have a wonderful time on this platform, if you have any questions or if there is anything I can help you with do not hesitate to ask, I will be more than happy to help.
If you would like to stay in touch please Follow me @pastorlea

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61129.70
ETH 2660.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55