I Am LTS...My Introduction To Steemit

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone,

I'd like to introduce myself to this great community. I'm excited about this site. I know the best is yet to come for all of us here. So, here is a brief history about myself. I'm currently 49 years old. I've been married for over 28 years and have two beautiful, intelligent, but most importantly, independent daughters. One is 28 and the other is 21.

I was born and raised in the South Bronx, New York. I lived there until the age of 19. By that age what once was a pretty decent, quiet, and safe neighborhood had transformed into a dangerous one. Drug dealers, users, pimps and prostitutes infiltrated our neighborhood quicker than you can say New York Yankees.

By the way I use to live about 30 blocks away from the OLD Yankee Stadium.

The Bronx.JPG

My neighborhood became so bad you were literally risking your life going to the local store to buy a loaf of bread or gallon of milk. Please believe me. I'm not exaggerating. For many years I witnessed people getting shot, stabbed, mugged, run over by cars, and I even saw a few people thrown off rooftops - in broad daylight.

Shootout.jpg

Do you know how many times I was walking home from school and was unknowingly walking right into a shootout? Too many to count! There was also the problem of having prostitutes conducting their business in the hallway of my apartment building. To be quite honest I think I learned more about sex from walking pass the prostitutes than in school.

Prostitutes.jpg

Drugs were being sold almost everywhere in my neighborhood. If two people were talking for a few minutes that usually meant there was a drug deal going down. I think my love and passion for commerce and business came from watching a whole lot of illegal transactions happening around me.

Drug Deal.jpg

Most of my friends had no ambition to be more than what they were. They were happy living in the daily struggle of just surviving in the concrete jungle another day. But I wanted MORE! That's why I never did the things they were doing like drinking and using drugs. Believe it or not they respected me for that. You see, I didn't judge them. I accepted them as they were. We were like a family. I just didn't want to be like them.

And that meant leaving them and that environment for a better life. I wanted to go to a safer environment just to increase my chances of living a long life. Once that happened I could begin work on becoming an entrepreneur. And that's what I did! I've been living in the quiet suburbs of New Jersey over 20 years and earn my living online.

Suburbs.jpg

I'm proud of myself for getting out. Now, instead of hearing gunshots outside of my window I get to hear some birds chirping instead...lol

Don't become a victim of your environment...there's always a way out!

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem brother! My grand dad was from the Bronx. He told me many stories of the mobsters that he used to be around. Not with,,,,but around in the local bars. He was a tough old man! Didn't take no crap from no one. Miss him dearly.

Great post! :) Hope to see more from you! Steem On! ;)

Welcome to Steem @lts I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Thanks for both the welcome and tip. I appreciate it.

Welcome @lts aboard the steemit express. This is a great platform to express yourself just like any other social media outlet except this one pays its users for interacting with each other. Post good content and your rewards can be limitless but always stay true to yourself.

@slickhustler007
#minnowtowhale
#minnowsupport

Thanks for the great advice. I will do my best. I still have to learn this site and I'm committed to doing so.

Welcome lts! Kudos to you for pulling yourself out of that environment - that takes some serious courage and determination.

Wish you all the best on Steemit and beyond!

Thank You! I appreciate it and I wish you the same.

Interesting Introduction. Welcome to Steemit!

Thanks for the welcome. I appreciate it.

New Followers get 0.001 SBD$ and an upvote for free!!
Just follow @muarju and upvote my recent post.

I will follow back
send you 0.001 SBD to your wallet
upvote your newest posting

Thanks. I follow you with no strings attached...lol

Welcome to Steemit! lts, Upvote & Follow is ou great strength.
Let's try to get along.

Thank You. I appreciate it. And we'll get along...lol

Hi and welcome to Steemit. I do hope that you have a wonderful time on this platform, if you have any questions or if there is anything I can help you with do not hesitate to ask, I will be more than happy to help.
If you would like to stay in touch please Follow me @Fshllc

Thank you. I appreciate your comments. I am now following you. I look forward to reading you content.

@its thank you for following :)

You are welcome

Welcome to Steemit community,
Nice post. I am very happy to share with you, Please visit my post https://steemit.com/news/@chantha/prek-toal-bird-sanctuary-the-single-most-important-breeding-ground-in-southeast-asia.
Thank you, hopefully in the future we can share in this best community and can support it.
I can not wait for your best postings.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89