introducing myself, as a french engineer-to-be

in #introduceyourself6 years ago

Hi dear Steemians !

I'm very pleased to become one of yours. Currently, I'm studying computer science in "université Paris-Saclay", one of the most advanced french university.

the end of Facebook

As I passed my first year, my university made me choose 2 options among 14 for the upcoming year. Those I chose were :

  • Mathematics, computer science and operational research (mathématiques, informatique théorique et recherche opérationelle)
  • distributed software (systèmes et logiciels répartis)

And guess what ?
This year, blockchain was introduced in the curriculum of "distributed software" cursus. I will be one of the first students in the world studying blockchain in university ! That means that, from now, generations of young engineers will be able to build start-ups, that will grow, and contribute to the mass adoption of decentralized economy. Hence the end of Facebook, and other big tech companies, which earn money by centralizing people's data.

DSC_0107.JPG

my areas of interest

If you are interested in history, you may have recognized the historic monument in the background above. It is the Triumphal Arch (Arc de Triomphe), build by the emperor Napoleon in Paris, following his victory at Austerlitz. It was designed as a copy of roman architecture.

In addition of history, I am interested in several topics :

  • mathematics, and science on the whole
  • philosophical debates, about the origins of morality, or the reasons of our existence.
  • computer science, and more specifically the progress in AI, and the way our jobs will be destroyed in the next years.

I will try to post about these subjects. Let me know in comment if you are interested in one of them.

PS : As a non english-native speaker, I would be pleased if you help me to improve my english language skills, by signaling my grammar mistakes, or vocabulary misuse.

Thanks for your attention !

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit and have fun!

greetings, louis

Be very welcome to steemit social network. I've been here since February of this year and I'm really enjoying. I participate here actively every day. Here, we can learn a lot by reading other people's posts about content that interest us and we can post our own content, helping people within our areas of expertise, training our writing, making a kind of "therapy" because, writing helps us to reflect on our knowledge and we will be slightly paid for it. I hope you enjoy.

My main tip is: before you begin to post your content, read the posts by teaching staff how to use this network, about how to write good text, how are the coins sbd, steem and steem power, how to advertise your text using the discord by example, votes issues and other things.

Other than that, we are always available. If you have any questions, go ahead.

Good afternoon!!!! Welcome!!

Thank you @julisavio, and all of you guys, for your warm welcome.
I'm sure I will have a wonderful time with you !

Welcome to Steem.... have fun

welcome.


Welcome to Steemit @louisdm!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How does Steemit actually work?

Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings!


Congrats, you made the #steemitminute for today!
Click the Image Below to see the Video!
You also got a $5 UPVOTE from @postpromoter

Vote for @yabapmatt as Top 20 Witness!
https://v2.steemconnect.com/sign/account-witness-vote?witness=yabapmatt&approve=1

Do you already have any kind of specific ideas regarding what kind of philosophical posts you will be writing? Some kind of post series perhaps?
I've also just recently joined Steemit myself and I find the community to be really chill for the most part, however I guess you won't really be into the stuff I post about :) it's about gaming

I don't really know yet the exact topic of my future posts. It could be philosophy of something more general. I'm currently thinking about a post about politics.
I will have a look at your posts too. I'm sure I will learn a lot of stuff (because I don't know a lot about gaming).

Bonjour lou j'étais la , bienvenu sur steemit

Welcome @louisdm, I hope you enjoy your stay in here.

I think AI will not destroy the job market but it will disrupt it, making it rethink from the basisc. Like the automobile and the computer at start.

Cool that you have choosen the distributed software path, where I think both have a steady future growth.

P.S.: For a French native speaker your English is very good

Hello @alexvan, I'm very pleased that we are interested in the same topics.
Definitely, job market will be disrupted (but not destroyed yet, you're right). It is very hard to predict now, but in my opinion, this revolution will imply less job for human people. Because since today's machines can learn, it will be harder for human people to compete. I expect the number of part-time job to sky rocket in the near future. If the legislation is adapted in the right way, it could be pretty cool (more time for leisure ...) Do you agree about that ?

Well, I think it will happen to be a more service and personal contact economy, where the human touch is important. There will definitely be a change of attitude, or at least I hope that the service gets better for example at Aux Tours de Notre Dame.

Of course we would have more time for leisure which will increase life quality.

I think that humanity can approach different problems like climate change, space travel, cures for diseases. That shall be the focus. We need to repair the damage we've done and it will take some time.

We live in interesting and challenging times, that is for sure.

welcome to steemit!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65702.61
ETH 3485.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51