Chapter I: Introduction

I was recently asked in a job interview, "What is your most endearing quality?" -- A question to which I had never been asked about during an interview. I answered, with eyes lighting up and a sparkle in my smile to say that I make handmade greeting cards as a way to spread tangible love. Mail just for you is one of the greatest things to receive in a world filled with flimsy text messages that don't hold up time after time. But a card, made specifically for you, with love, with patience; it's a way for the creator to show tangibly that they're thinking of you, that they've taken part of their precious time to make you something that you can hold on to for however long you want. Love is great and beautiful, and the best way to say it besides vocally and with food is with a card.

Hello, Steemit! My name is Jamie! My eventual card making business, which I hope to get more off the ground next year or in 2019 is called People Who Believe in Love. Right now, you can find me on Instagram at https://www.instagram.com/peoplewhobelieveinlove/. In 2018, I hope to get myself onto Etsy and making cards for people other than my friends who give them to their friends. In 2019, I hope to have started the process of learning how to make my own stamps.

To introduce more about myself:

  • I'm 28 years old from northeastern Pennsylvania (PeeAyy, Pennsyltucky)
  • I have two BA's: Political Science; International Studies
  • I would consider myself a generally happy person
  • ENFP Gryffindor who cooks too much and loves essentially everyone
  • I watch a lot of hockey, read a lot, and hang out with my pupper on the daily

1096.jpg
Meet Zoe, a Siberian Husky Houdini who wants nothing more than to frolic wherever and whenever she feels like it. She loves her pack but would still leave it for a stranger who lets her in their car for a ride.

Anyways, Steemit world, I know the tradition is to post a picture of self with something that says steemit with the date, however, I've yet to shower myself for the day. Please take an older picture to serve for the moment:

blue christiania.jpg
This picture is from when I decided to couchsurf a bit around Europe after I studied abroad in Finland in 2013. The picture was taken in Freetown Christiania, an independent community located outside of the European Union located in Denmark, Copenhagen. Two thumbs up and an open mouth is my signature pose.

I hope to use steemit to talk about People Who Believe in Love, any stories I might have half-written and want to share with the world, and to genuinely get to know other people from other areas of the world. Spread more love.

In closing, I finish with the question I was asked in the interview.
Everyone who reads this, please let me know: what is your most endearing quality?

Sort:  

Welcome Jamie. I love your dog. Am glad you are here on steemit. Hope you have a lovely time here on steemit. I upvoted you,its small, but just a sign of my good will.

Am on a contest now and I really need your vote. All you need do is click this link https://steemit.com/contest/@jaynie/the-never-would-i-ever-challenge-3-sports

And then upvote my comment @stellastella in the comment section.
That will help me win the sports contest. Thanks a lot for your anticipated help. You can join the contest also if you desire. Thanks alot for your help

Hello, hello Stellastella! I have done as you asked! However, if I had to support a Premier League team, I'd probably support Arsenal ;) Alas, I don't have much experience with the UK soccer league !

Hi Jamie!

Couchsurf through Europe?!? That's amazing. That's totally one of those things I always wanted to do, but never quite got up the guts.

Ah, it's pretty hard listing what I think is my most endearing quality... what if my most endearing quality is being modest and coyly shy about my qualities (it's not)? I think people like me because I make an effort to listen and occasionally I'll say funny... and I can run real fast, and jump real high... and I'm good at sports. Ah, some of these I might just wish I was good at.

Anyway, hi, welcome!

Hello, hello! Thank you for answering my question!
Couchsurfing...Yes, indeed! Only through Rovaniemi, Malmo, and Copenhagen. It was a highly enlightening experience ... Perhaps I'll post about it sometime! Couchsurfing, dumpster diving, and hitchhiking, huzzah!

You're good at warm welcomes! :) I hope to learn your most endearing qualities! Maybe even eventually make you a card!

Dumpster diving?!? Well, why didn't you say so... I'm in Portland Oregon, the home of dumpster diving and hitchhiking.... and chaise lounge surfing (it is hipsterville after all).

Ah, you should totally post about couch surfing one day... it can only increase the enlightenment and get people thinking thoughts they haven't thunk.

Hope you like it here, I totally look forward to your posting adventures.

Oh heyyyy, Oregon! I have loooong wanted to go to Eugene (alas, grad school eludes me). What do you like the most about Portland? -- aside from the dumpster diving ;)

I love how green Oregon is!
You can drive 30 minutes out of Portland and see only trees. It's incredible.
We came from Australia, where droughts are pretty commonplace, and so in summer pretty much everything turns brown and dries out and crazy massive bushfires break out... but in Oregon it's just green as far as you can see.

We bought a little place outside of Portland and we honestly can't see any of our neighbours... we can only see trees. So good!

Whoa! I supported Arsenal too... until I forgot to follow the EPL...

psst: all your neighbours are bears ;)

I assume you're talking about my comment neighbours below?

There wouldn't be bears in Oregon would there? I thought we were too hipster for that and they left for Alaska where they could be manly bears and stuff.

Howdy howdy

welcome to the crypto-currency universe

Thank you! It's an interesting universe to get into !

What a great puppy!

She really charms the world with her beauty and then acts like a little devil. But I wouldn't trade her for anything!

Nice to meet you, Jamie. Cute pooch!

It is lovely to meet you! I'll let my pupper know she's loved even on the interwebs!

Hi Jamie! Welcome to Steem! We're glad to have you here!

I am a Steem curator and have started a new series "The Daily 5" where I pick five new Steemians to share with my followers that they should know about. I have selected you as one of my five for today. Your post has been featured in my post you can find here: The Daily 5.

Unlike some of the bots and follow 4 follow spammers you will find in the Introduction tag, my work is 100% human and without any required response from you. While I invite you to come check out the post and interact in the comments, nothing further is required but that you enjoy your time here on Steem!

That is very kind of you!

Congratulations @lookupattheskyxx! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64038.31
ETH 3137.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86