Blog 1: Has the world become crazy? And a short introduction…

To begin with the latter. To make it easy for most of you, I am the big brother of @exyle (although in physical terms I am his small brother as you can see in the picture). I was born in 1980 and raised in the suburbs of the ‘harbor capital’ of the world, Rotterdam. I still live there with my wife (formally girlfriend, but she really hates that) and two beautiful daughters (see pic).

I studied Business Administration at the Erasmus University in Rotterdam and started working as an investment banker at ING Bank in Amsterdam. After doing that for 10 years, I changed jobs in the mid of 2015 and started at an investment boutique near Utrecht. I am responsible as a fund manager for the management of a fund of over € 500 million, which invests in large equity stakes in Dutch small and medium sized companies.

Shortly on my screen name, look4balance. It is the way I try to live my life. Balance is important in the relationship between work and free time, but also in so many other aspects of live. Lastly, I love playing poker and that game is all about balance. If you’re not balanced the better players will run all over you. So you should always look for balance and only leave it when you’re absolutely sure that is the best thing to do.

Has the world become crazy? Off course the world has been crazy for a long time from the perspective of what people are doing to each other, but I mean specifically on the subject of blockchain / cryptocurrency. The amount of money that is pouring into crypto and that my brother and some of my best friends are making is just mind-blowing for me. I work for over 12 years in the top of the financial industry and have never seen anything like it. My brother calls me (and my father btw too) a dinosaur that is sitting by the station while the train is taking off… Perhaps he is right, perhaps not. But for the moment he is at right end of the scale.

In general, I am pretty busy with a job that costs me at least 50 hours a week (don’t be sorry, I really like my job and the office location (see picture) is stunning) and a young family. But no more excuses, I need to get my head around this. Understand what is going on and figuring out if the value attributed to crypto is justified. What is the value? This question is the main question in my job, which I ask myself over and over again for almost every decision I make. The problem with value is that it is dynamic, e.g. the value of a can of coke for me right now behind my computer is completely different from the value of the same can of coke for me if I walked for a day in the dessert without any water.

I spent a day with my brother, who educated me on the basics (thanks Bro!) and invested a few thousand Euros to be on board and feel committed. I will try to write at least a blog every week in which I talk about investing (i.e. answering the question: What is the value?) in the traditional economy and my journey of answering this question for the crypto world.
Hopefully this provides for some interesting reads and stimulates to also invest in some other categories besides crypto. Who knows what will happen.

I hope that 2018 will give me some more insights into the astounding world of crypto and I wish everyone reading this a very happy and healthy 2018!

All the best, look4balance

Sort:  

This is intriguing.
It sounds like you should be in crypto way before your brother. Again balancing everything could be a good thing.
I will enjoy your post just like this one.
Keep on steemit.

Thank you. I agree, but my brother deserves all the credits!

Welcome! I'm a new steemian too! I've a lot to learn about the steemit platform and cryptocurrency in general. I'll follow your blog and look forward to learning together. You can see my #introduceyourself post and say hi if you'd like. I also want to recommend you look at the blog of @valuproposition. Your writing about value reminded me of his intro. Happy New Year!

Welcome! Good to see you here as well!

I'm looking forward to learning your insights of crypto vs traditional economics.

Happy new year and welcome to steemit how is everything going? You have 2 lovely daughters congrats for that.

What a great name you choose for yourself. I like @look4balance very much. I think it's great that you will post on Steemit, just like your younger brother. Now I have two children on Steemit. I am proud of both of you! Looking forward to your blog!
Upvoted and resteemed (of course!)

Hey JJ!!!! How great to see you have joined finally! Hope to read informative stuff as you know a lot about funding and old fashioned fiat money ;) Welcome aboard Brother! ENjoy the ride!

Welcome aboard budy. Good to have you here :) I would not have figured you for a writer, but it appears you have a real knack for it. Hope to be reading more from you soon. It took me some time to wrap my head around it as well, but Mark explained a lot and I think this is the place to be right now. All the best to you too. Hope to see you soon !

Thanks and hope to see you soon too!

Welcome! I hope you find success here (like your brother has)!

Me too. Thank you

Instead of just being a user and a product like on traditional social media, you are now a owner with many others, along your brother, of a company that is building the platform for the next big social media sites.

Company being the Steem blockchain that powers sites like Dtube and Steemit.

Welcome to modern age, it's good to see even dinosaurs are willing to learn a trick or two.

Thank for the welcome to modern age!

What's currently happening is that masses are finally starting to accept Bitcoin. After that they start to look what else blockchain has to offer. We both know how big part of our lives social media is in these days. I'd say you are in the right place at just the right time - I try to remind myself that dot com bubble peaked at 7 trillion and we're not even at our first one yet and back then it was just money from Usa, now this is global and there's a lot more FIAT money to go around so pinch me at 10 trillion :)

Welcome to the Steem Blockchain @look4balance!

I must say, you are in excellent hands with regards to your Brother - When I found out about siblings I did wonder why they weren't here already. I mean, @clio's been here a while! :)

A nice open introduction, thanks for sharing some work/family background to open - we are a little snowed under with charts and recipes at times!

Oh and well done for doubling your investment in 3 days, I wonder how often you've said that over the years at work? :D

Cheers!

Asher

Many thanks. Hope to provide some interesting insights into investing in general. The proceeds of this first investment are obviously unbelievable. The big question for me is if it is sustainable. Hope to find out...

Great. I do have some funds and stocks but they don't interest much as much as this place at present :)

Sustainable at these prices, I have no clue - we are in uncharted territory!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54140.93
ETH 2422.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12