Hello World!

"Live your life as if you were just a traveller passing through", Prophet Muhammad (saww) [narrated by Abdullah ibn Umar, recorded by Bukhari and Tirmidhi]

I like to think that this quote sums up my attitude fairly nicely.
Although, of course, there's always a certain disconnect between what the speaker intends to convey and what we, the listeners, understand (or want to understand), especially when the quote is translated from such an intricate and nuanced language such as Arabic.
(*on a side note, I was always fascinated by the Islamic referencing system. In a certain way it's more robust than those used in academia, though unlike academic research, Islamic tradition doesn't suppose any future additions)

As you might have guessed from the above paragraph, I like to muse on little details and might be suffering from a light case of over-thinking-itis ;)
I am an ambitious research student with high aspirations. I did my fair share of travelling (mostly involuntarily) during my childhood, but I don't intend to stop. In fact, the very idea of "settling down" is foreign to me, and all my plans for the future invariably involve moving to a new country, if not a new continent. But that's neither here, nor there, so back to the main topic...
However, I like to keep my travels very personal, so I probably won't post much in that category.
Needless to say, I have a strong passion for exploring different cultures, different outlooks, and essentially anything that will allow me to broaden my mental horizons. I'm an avid learner of languages. My newest additions to the collection are Japanese and 'golang' (though I'm still struggling with both).

What I will post, though, is basically anything that I find even remotely thought-provoking (ranging from culture, to science, to politics, to philosophy, etc...), and I will insist on over-analysing, over-complicating and any other 'over' you might think of...
Please feel free to share your personal thoughts and unique points of view at any time!
As I said, I'm a traveller passing through this life, and it would be a shame not to experience what you have to offer... ;)

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit! I hope you’ll enjoy being here as much as I do.

You might find these YouTube videos useful. They are created specifically to help new Steemers grow and be successful on Steemit.

All The Best!
Spencer Coffman
My Latest Article: 47 Press Release Directories

Welcome to Steemit @lobaskin, I hope you have a good start here. If you have questions, feel free to contact me.

If you're interested, I've written a little guide here on how to best grow on Steemit.

Welcome to steemit,a community for positive people just like you,trust me you'll enjoy every bit of it,It takes patience,commitment,perseverance and dedication to succeed on steemit.you can follow me @donkelly

welcome in the community :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64479.05
ETH 3181.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57