Yo! This is me. @hexayurt sent me here, but he doesn't know that yet.

Hi, I'm Lloyd, I live in London. I'm 51 years old (sh*t!) and I'm two years into my second marriage.

I got here because I'm friends with Vinay Gupta, Mr @hexayurt and I saw that he'd transcribed his Hexayurt Guy Capital Partners talk here and got some interest. So I had a poke around. If I'd have thought I'd have asked him about it when I saw him on Friday, but I was more interested in hearing about the next stage in his forthcoming world domination.

I'm best known for starting a weekly coffee morning for geeks in London called the Tuttle Club. The name is a reference to Harry Tuttle, the subversive heating engineer played by Robert De Niro in Terry Gilliam's 1984 film, Brazil. When I started it and people asked who exactly I expected to come along and talk about just about anything at all on a Friday morning, I would jokingly say "friends of Harry Tuttle" and the name stuck. It also turned out to be true, we attract a wide variety of deeply strange and interesting people who have a spare couple of hours to come and chew the fat with likeminded freaks.

For example, Gupta arrived on the first Friday in January, 2009. It was raining (it was London in January remember) and he blew into the Institute of Contemporary Arts in a giant yellow oilskin and sou'wester. He looked something like a big ball of play-doh wrapped in cling film. Anyhow, not one to judge people by their external appearance, I welcomed him in and we sat down to talk. He seemed familiar. But we had never met. I liked him immediately. And then I uttered the fatal words that were to cement the relationship: "I know where I know you from," I said, "We've met in the future!". Hilarity (seven years of it and counting) ensued.

So I'm interested in how we change the world with technology and how that technology often turns round and bites us on the ass, swiftly followed by the ungrateful world that we thought we were improving and whose teeth can be considerably sharper. We talk about Tuttle being the place where we discuss the gap between technological change and our social capability to understand and use the new tools. Back in 2008/9 we grappled with Social Media, twitter was a couple of years old and hadn't crapped on it's developer community yet. These days there's lots of blockchain/fintech chatter (we meet in the City of London which is still a major financial centre despite the Brexit) but also the IoT, Robots, Drones, VR/AR and AI miasma that Vinay's Capital Partners project looks to fund and exploit.

I talk about myself as a Social Artist, that means making amazing and beautiful things (like Tuttle!) by getting people together and treating them like human beings, facilitating creative collaborations. At the moment, one of the things I'm doing is regularly facilitating the think+do weekends for Imogen Heap's Mycelia4Music project.

What I'm working on at the moment is how we create a viable business out of this loosely-joined bunch of weirdos - we've already done some consulting work together, most of us think quickly and well and can express our ideas well, some rich people like hanging out with edgy people who seem to know what the future's going to hold. Whatever, it will be as decentralized as we can make it and have as much democratic control from workers and customers as we can squeeze in while still adding value and earning a buck or two.

I'm not sure what I might write about here in particular. Let's see, there's lots of interesting stuff happening at the moment that I see from the edges but don't really record. Maybe it'll be some of that.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit! If you would like to see statistics of any post on Steemit, you can use Steemd.com. I have made a bookmark for your convenience in accessing Steemd. https://steemit.com/steemd/@craigwilliamz/steemd-statistics-bookmark-for-easy-access-to-steemd

Thanks Craig, I hadn't seen steemd yet, more to learn :)

What's going to be carved on your (hypothetical) tombstone?

A man who has committed a mistake and doesn't correct it is committing another mistake.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02