Introduction of an Underwater Archaeologist

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hello all,

I was recently asked to do a bit of an introduction so here goes.

09_11_03_Tangier_resturant2.jpg

I came to photography out of a need to document our anthropological past. While studying archaeology, I developed a photographic style based on my ability to record historical remains for academic publications. As an important part of the overall scientific process, photography helped me expose important details about the human experience.

As my field of study narrowed to shipwreck archaeology, my camera came with me underwater. Shipwrecks are compartmentalized time capsules that reveal a tremendous amount about shipboard life and the cultures from which they came. Through photography, I was again able to document the stories being uncovered during underwater excavations.

Layne_and_Michael_surfacing.jpg

Moving beyond the academic, photography, as art, came into focus as I began to investigate the many cultures where I worked. During these occasions, I tried to document the everyday life in which I found myself. I tried to capture spontaneous raw emotions as they unfolded out on the street. There was also travel photography because of my fascination with our past. Capturing images of historic sites, wonders of the world, and long forgotten testaments to human achievement are also a major component of my portfolio.

Pushing underwater photography as well, I have moved beyond simply recording historical relics. Instead of viewing what is visible as if to be presented in an academic catalog, I now present stories of the marine life that have made their home in the remains and in our oceans. The underwater environment presents tremendous opportunities for the skilled photographer and I try to bring back as much of its beauty as possibly each and every dive.

P1011065.jpg

Today my style continues to develop as I hone my skill both above and below water. I continue to learn and train to drive my photographic skill still farther. I live to travel and want nothing more than to bring back my experiences to share with others.

Enjoying my content? Please help support my ongoing efforts by always resteeming.
Don't forget to look through my other content - https://steemit.com/@liquidtravel

Sort:  

Great - I just love underwater pictures :) Not too many of them on this site yet - glad to have you! Resteemed you for some publicity! Greets

Thank you. I do appreciate your comment. More to come so make sure and follow me.

Welcome to Steem Community @liquidtravel! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

This looks awesome @liquidtravel welcome to steemit, I'm just loving the view underwater. =)
Wish you all the best and more underwater photography please, thank you! =)

Thank you @purepinay. I will do my best. Please take a look at my other content - https://steemit.com/@liquidtravel

Nice introduction post. I'm looking forward to your posts, it doesn't happen every day you 'meet' an underwater archeologist :-)

Welcome! diving has always been a dream of mine!

you should make it a reality then. I have been teaching scuba of over 10 years. It is a wonderful experience.

Welcome to steemit!

Archeology was my first career aspiration as a child of 6 years! I would really love to see more pictures of your work.

No worries. Lots more to come. Please follow me and you will have the chance. Thanks again.

Hey and welcome here, fellow researcher!

We have a STEM community here on steem: Check out @steemstem and #steemstem! When you write about research and science, you can include the #steemstem tag, to get curated and receive nice upvotes for high-quality content. You may also be interested to join our discord chat some time!

Also, there is this great guide that I usually recommend to new steemians, that really covers a lot of the usual questions around our platform.

cya around!

Thanks so much @sco. I will certainly do that in the future. In fact, I am working on a piece now that fits that tag. If you find the time, I would love to get resteemed...

thanks

Amazing underwater shots! Looks like you really honed your skills while doing research. Your field of study is really interesting as I have always wondered what is it like to explore the ocean (I am a bit afraid of swimming in the sea). Hope to find courage to go underwater diving.

Hi Welcome to Steem. Congratulations! It's an awesome community. I followed you. Please follow back. Good Luck.82dac99-285x300 (1).jpg

Done and thank you.

The underwater photography definitely interests me. Just getting the white balance right is a challenge, I'm sure. I'm going to give you a follow.

Thank you Florio. I do appreciate your support. White balance is an issue. If I need to, I can use a white card but I also have an underwater action that I created to help deal with that out of the water. Thanks again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61795.04
ETH 3458.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52