Hi, I am Linda from New Hampshire

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

Hi to all the folks at Steemit. My name is Linda and I suspect, at 71, that I might be one of the oldest Steemit members. One of the great pleasures in life if learning new information and there seems to be an abundance of information and friendly folks here at Steemit. I was directed here by Gregory Mannarino. Greg does an update on the US stock market twice a day and I follow him on his website. You can check Greg's site out at https://www.traderschoice.net/.

I have lived in New Hampshire USA all of my life. I grew up in the beautiful Lakes Region and now live in the Baker River Valley of central NH. I have been married for 41 years to Nick, a retired civil engineer. Although living only in NH I have had an interesting and enjoyable life. I am the 7th of 9 children, so growing up there was always someone to have fun with. I have traveled to Hong KongBoatHKHarbor.jpg several times and to mainland China on 5 different trips.RIM00008.JPG I have traveled north to Canada and south to Mexico and Costa Rica.

My interest are varied, economics, travel, politics and natural health care. I have worked on numerous political campaigns and was the fiscal officer on two congressional campaigns. If you enjoy politics NH is the place to be. With our first in the nation primary everyone comes to NH to test the waters. Bill Clinton, Hillary Clinton, Ronald Reagan, Donald Trump, Bernie Sanders just lives across the border in Vermont. They all have come here many times during presidential campaign seasons. I make my own skin care products and one of my newest interest is learning to use essential oils. Because of some health problems I developed an interest in natural health care. I make bread and at one time sold bread mixes for bread machines. I make my own yogurt and kefir. If you want to be healthy you need a healthy gut and kefir is a great help. I enjoy having the birds at my feeder and make my own mix of lard and peanut butter for them. I love to can, especially meat. I used to have extensive flower gardens but health has slowed me down in that department. I love my computer, learning first to use dos and then Windows 95. Computers have opened the world for all of us. One of my favorite programs is Corel PaintShop Pro. Round.jpg

I love glass and pottery. I collect depression glass, Polish potterya81ff6409a6d209cd8b87bd26e8b1065--polish-pottery-dessert-plates.jpg and burnished Mexican pottery. s-l640.jpg

I look forward to spending many hours on Steemit learning many things you have to share and hope you find some of the things I have learned interesting.

Sort:  

Hello, welcome to Steemit! This place is amazing.

Stay active with posting, commenting and upvoting and you will be successful.

There are some great tools for Steemit to help too like the Steem Follower tool that will get you more upvotes and followers.

https://steemfollower.com/?r=3027

Have fun!

Welcome to Steemit Linda! I think you might just be right that your one of the oldest, but it's awsome you're still trying new things! I work in healthcare and I see so much stagnation in thought. Great intro, look forward to more posts. Followed!

Thank you. It is so sad when people give up and set in front of a TV. My Dad was as sharp at 80 as he was at 40 but my mother was another story. Her world was so small. She could only talk about what happened 40 years before. I hope to be like my father.

Hey there, Welcome to Steemit! You might give yourself a little guff about your age with regard to all the young whippersnappers around here, but that really means little. My 90-year-old grandmother is active on Facebook. She uses it to keep up with old friends, connect with family, and work on her memoir. If you put your mind to it, you can do it!

Keeping up can be very hard as you get older. Steemit looks like fun and I have a life time of mistakes I have learned from. I enjoy helping others and this seems like a great place to share ideas.

And how! I've met quite a few really awesome people here.

I make my own skin care products and one of my newest interest is learning to use essential oils.

OMGosh!!!! ME too.... like we're kindred spirits!

Welcome to steemit! If you are ever looking for a group, actually a community, of homesteaders/gardeners/self-sufficient like-minded people, I am the moderator of a group here... also the "un"official ambassador to the group.
let me know and I can post an invite link here for you!

Please post and invite I would like to join. Thanks

Welcome to the steemit community Linda. And remember you are only as old as you feel! And congrats on 41yrs of marriage that is quite the accomplishment. congrats.

What do we call you, Hamster? Haha
It’s great to see a life long free stater on here, I hope to move there with my family in 2019. A terrifying leap.

I gather you have a farm? Glad to see you on here, have a great day!!

Lots of Free Staters here. Where are you moving to? Hope you like the cold and snow. Winters can be hard but also lots of fun. We have great skiing, and snowmobiling. In the summer we have the most beautiful lakes you would ever want to see. And the best sea food in the world. I am not a farmer but we live in a very small town and live a country life. "Live Free or Die"

My plans just took a twist. The wife just took a hard left on me, putting all future plans in a true state of uncertainty. I was just hoping to move to The Free State and buy some land to have a small homestead. We'll see where life takes me from here though. Thanks for the great post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65306.74
ETH 3488.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51