Domestic Violence Survivor - Intro post

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

Greetings, Steemitians!

I am Lilac.
This is my story, and it is about living with a violent spouse. It is about losing your friends, your family, your freedom and even yourself.
Its not a beautiful story. It may be upsetting and hard to read, but it is important, because this story is also about surviving all of the above, finally finding a way out, and working towards recovery.

Last summer, I finally walked out of the 5 year long relationship. I made a bunch of attempts before, I stayed at a couple of women's shelters, but returned to my partner, lets call him Mike, every time.
Now, I live under something similar to the witness protection program, with hidden identity and more, since Mike is still trying to find me.
Because of that, I have decided not to share my real name or personal information. I hope that's alright =).

So, lets get to it.

I was born in the 90's, and I grew up in a pretty small Scandinavian town.
I had a warm and loving family, many friends and I did well in School.
I had a very simple and fun childhood, with a well-off family, in a safe town.

When I turned 20, I was already working as a sales manager for a big corporation, after working in their sales force since I was 16. I had moved to my nations capital city and spent my weekends at bars and pubs, with many friends, and my relationship with my family was as good as ever.

I'm not telling you all this to seem like I had a perfect life or childhood, I had felt my share of sorrow and pain, like everyone else. I'm telling you this to point out that domestic violence can happen to anyone.
It doesn't matter if your rich or poor, male or female, old or young. It can happen regardless of your occupation, social status and upbringing.

I was in my early 20s when I met a man I fell in love with. I fell in love with him like I had never fallen in love before.
Our relationship grew fast, we moved in together almost right away and we married after only a year.
Mike was drinking alot from the beginning, but during the first six months of us living together, he was fun, loving, caring and "normal". After those six months, however, things started taking a turn for the worse.

He started accusing me of cheating, he became very jealous and "protective". The mental abuse, including slowly cutting me off from my family and friends, started early on, without me noticing it or getting alarmed by it. He was such a loving person, you know?

The physical violence started maybe a year into our relationship. I lived through daily rape and forced sex for the most part of about three years. I spent around 4 years mostly locked in and trapped in his (our) apartment.

After living with this person for 5 years, I finally left for good. I had tried several times before finally leaving for real.

Today, I cant work because Im dealing with pretty strong PTSD and anxiety, which I am receiving help for.
But, I am engaged to the most wonderful man you could imagine. My son (who you will learn more about) is well, and we are growing a new, strong and loving relationship. I have beautiful dog that I take everywhere I go, she helps me with my social anxiety, she helps my confidence and she is my friend, hero, baby and sweetheart.

So why would anyone be interested in this? Im not sure. But I am hoping that maybe someone who is going through a similar thing can find my steemit helpful in some way.
Maybe you can come to realize that it is not your fault, as the victim? Maybe you can recognize some of the things that has happened to me, and realize you deserve better? Or maybe you are worried about a loved one and their relationship?

I will write about how a violent relationship can start, how it can play out, how I survived it both physically and mentally (even if I have some scars), how I feel now and how I recover and build a new life.
I hope it can help someone.

Edit: If you have any questions, feel free to leave a comment. I could use some tips about what you would like to read more about =)

Peace.

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing! You're not alone. As someone who has also been through a domestic abuse relationship and lives with PTSD, I'm proud of you for sharing your story and I look forward to seeing more of what you write.
PTSD can be really hard. It's such a complex condition and it sounds like you're in the beginning stages of healing from it, but I just want to tell you that over time it will get better. I'm not sure if we ever entirely heal, but it will get better.

Also great paragraph: "I'm not telling you all this to seem like I had a perfect life or childhood, I had felt my share of sorrow and pain, like everyone else. I'm telling you this to point out that domestic violence can happen to anyone.
It doesn't matter if your rich or poor, male or female, old or young. It can happen regardless of your occupation, social status and upbringing." I personally went through a lot growing up, but it's good to point out that that's not always the case, and that domestic abuse can happen to ANYONE.

Keep going Lilac! We're all rooting for you :)

Thank you for your kind words and for sharing part of your story! I'm glad to hear that you got away from your abusive relationship and that you have the strength to work on healing, that's amazing, and you sound very brave =).

And thank you for that quote. Its extremely important to me that victims of domestic violence, in any form, realize its not their fault and that there is no shame in it or asking for help =).

Peace

My husband suffers with PTSD as well - mostly from some of the terrible crap he saw during the first Gulf war. Somalia was the worst for him. He's also been through some pretty terrible relationships too, which compounded everything. Thank YOU for sharing your story too.

Hi @lilac and welcome to Steemit. While I've never been hit by my former spouse, he did a number of my self-esteem and worth. Divorcing him was the best 160 pounds I've ever lost. Thank you for sharing your story. People DO CARE and there is therapy of the richest kind in speaking and writing about your experiences.

Hello Merej and thank you =). Im sorry to hear about your ex and what he did to you. Mental abuse is as bad, often even worse, than physical abuse. I'm glad you decided to divorce him and to live a better life, that was very brave of you =)

I'm sorry about all the things that have happened to you, but I'm glad to have you join us Steemians! Hopefully this will be a place where you can freely share and help others going through the same things.

Thank you, and thank you for your welcome =) I look forward to hanging out with you all and hopefully help someone on the way .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60216.66
ETH 2326.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48