HELLO STEEMIT! I am Dustin/@liberadish, a voluntarist/libertarian from idyllic Southern Illinois/USA

Hi!
My name is Dustin. I was named me after the song "Dust in the Wind." This is my first post on Steemit, although I started my account a few months back. I've been lurking around, getting a feel for the community, but now it's time to dive in and start producing some content! The Steemit platform is very exciting to me, although I must admit, I'm only beginning to wrap my head around the implications of blockchain technology. If anyone has knowledge of informational resources on blockchain tech that I should be aware of, please let me know!

0926170028.jpg

I live in Southern Illinois, right at the cusp of the Shawnee National Forest and just east of the Ozarks. This region has long been known as "Little Egypt" in recognition of the convergence of the Mississippi River and the Ohio River and the lush fertility which resulted, mirroring the Nile delta in Egypt. This land is rich with forests and hiking trails, fantastic rock formations and gorgeous lakes. Here is a photo I took at "The Garden of the Gods," a great jewel of Southern Illinois.

0829171313.jpg

I have a small gourmet mushroom business called "Little Egypt Mushroom Co." I focus on growing oyster mushrooms for the time being, but I will be branching out into other varieties in the future. I would love to meet any fellow mycologists here on Steemit and exchange information on cultivation techniques, so if you have any interest, hit me up! I will be happy to answer any questions about my operation. Here's a peak inside my fruiting chamber:

fruitfull log.jpg

My primary passion is the study of libertarian and anarchistic philosophy. I will be dedicating a lot of my posts to this subject. This is why my Steemit account is @liberadish, which is also the name of my upcoming podcast and website. I came up with the name Liberadish as an amalgamation of 'liber,' the Latin word for freedom, and 'radish,' which is a root vegetable having a name which is itself derived from the Latin word for 'root.' Thus Liberadish will endeavor to explore "the roots of freedom." The word 'radical' also comes to us via the Latin 'radicem.' This tells us that something is radical if and when it engages the root of the matter. Radical ideas are often met with discomfort because, by their nature, they challenge the root of the status quo. In this sense, Liberadish and The Liberadish Podcast will be decidedly radical in content. Much emphasis will be put on the etymology of terms (the roots of language), so again the name Liberadish is highly apt. I anticipate meeting many fellow voluntarist/libertarian/anarchist-without-hyphens here at Steemit, and look forward to building alliances of non-aggression and thwarting authoritarian/statist institutions across the world. Agora! Anarchy! Action!

Also, I have a cat. Her name is Ra, which phonetically represents a tiny ROAR.

0904170037a~2.jpg

PS: If you enjoy lo-fi hip-hop beats, I encourage you to check out my Soundcloud and share with me your thoughts!

THANKS FOR READING!

0908171306.jpg0925171456a_HDR.jpg

Sort:  

Nothing better than fresh venison tenderloins, oyster mushrooms, onion and fresh butter!

Welcome!

That sounds delicious!

Hi, I'm George. Welcome to Steemit. Feel free to interact with people, ask questions where you are confused and make friends. Here in Steemit, we love each other as family.

Thank you, George! I am happy to be apart of the family.

Hello Dustin @liberadish ! Nice to meet you and welcome on Steemit ! Great post , work hard and post quality articles and you-ll grow fast :) .

Nice fruiting chamber :)

Greetings, friend! As liberty lovers we are already friends even though we just met. Welcome to Steemit! Please connect with us Liberty Professionals at the official steemit.chat webpage. The details are below. There are a lot of freedom fighters here, so you should do well. The platform is perfect since there's no way to censor our content!

There are a ton of other webpages to help you with Steemit. Here are some of the best for beginners:

https://steemd.com/ (This site is used to keep track of your voting power and other stats. You do not want to run out of voting power, and you only get so much per day. I keep my voting power around 80% for example.)

https://steem.makerwannabe.com/ (This site will tell you who follows you, who unfollows you, and who mutes you. It is great for meeting new people too. I regularly check it to see who has followed me to see if I should follow them back.)

https://steemit.chat/ (This site is the official chat webpage for Steemit. There are Discord channels too, but I usually stick to the official site. Come in to network and meet new friends. You can directly message people there too, so it makes it easier to communicate with your closest friends.)

Oh yeah, there are a lot of bots on here. If you see a cookie cutter reply, especially to your intro post, it is almost certainly a bot. Check the account's reputation. If it is low, I would recommend just ignoring them. Everything is public on Steemit, so you can go look at an account's comments and replies. Are they all the same? It's a bot.

Adding photos to your account as a new Steemian may be confusing at first too. The easiest way it to click to "Submit a Story." Once in there, use the built in Steemit tool to upload an image from your computer. Below the posting window, you will see "Insert images by dragging & dropping, pasting from the clipboard, or by selecting them." Click on the blue text. Once the image is uploaded, you can copy and paste the link into your account settings.

Verifying your identity is very important because it will get you more support and people will trust you more. The best way to verify is to link back to your Steemit account by using another public social media account. For example, I posted my Steemit articles from here through my Twitter account. Another person posted their Steemit information on their Facebook account. Some people will even post a video of themselves writing out their account information since that cannot be Photoshopped. The more famous a person is or the more valuable their content is, the more important it is that they verify. If a new account falls within those two categories and fails to verify, it may get blacklisted.

Again, welcome, and I've followed you! If you have any questions about getting started, look me up on the chat site.

Hey! Welcome to Steemit. Loved the post. Looking forward to more content! Hope you have a good time.

HI .... I upvoted and commented on your post...I have created a fb page " steemit global community" join us...we will give you all the help needed.
Follow me on @abdullahkhattak...

welcome to steemit. I hope you will enjoy your account and keep posting your original content and the nice photos :)

Nice to meet you, @liberadish! Welcome to the Steemit Community, wish you good luck and a good start, ive send you a small tip and followed you, hope you have an amazing day! :)

Hey thanks for the feedback, and good looking-out on the tip. I appreciate it! Finally got some steem in the wallet.

Hello Dustin

I like too crypto currencies and follow you now. -)

I welcome you to steemit. I give you some tips:
Just make your own post and comment others. This is a nice community here. If you click at @thunderland you can see my posts, and if you like them, you can upvote them and follow me.
You can do this with all users. Have fun and welcome here. @thunderland

If you get a price from steemitboard, upvote his comment with the arrow.
All the best for you and much fun here. -)))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62904.22
ETH 2571.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76