Hey I'm Tom, Founder of Bandetta, an Infidel and recently started Drawing Cats.

in #introduceyourself8 years ago

I've poked around long enough, time for a formal hello.

Screenshot2016-08-14at9.11.54PM255aa.png

I'm a (((white male))) from Australia, I'm only a half hour drive from the beach yet never go there, I'm an hour and a half drive to band practice and have gone there twice a week for years, or used to. Now I'm starting a paleo food service and occasionally engineering at a recording studio about an hour away, near a place called Nimbin. (Everything is far away in Australia)

Screenshot2016-08-14at7.25.06PMb0f1d.png
The studio I helped build

Its a grind, more with myself than with work, I've had to block myself from social media to get stuff done which I highly recommend if you have any sort of basic internet addiction. I never got into the workforce early and I think I missed out on some work ethic I didn't know was there, now I'll favour hard things, sometimes I'll search classifieds for jobs digging ditches or planting trees (or ripping out trees, whatever pays more).

Free market economics have always been a real interest to me, I can remember getting into market forces and contract law as my voice was breaking, I think it broke twice. I feel I have a pretty good grasp of market anarchy and statist psychology, but I still haven't figured out how to convince a statist the sky is blue. Dam sky.

What Bandetta was, and why it Failed

Bandetta was my attempt at a tech company as a non technical founder, I wanted to create a way for bands to start their own crypto currency, who parse it out to fans that had discovered them early and wanted to help any way they could and thus help the value of the bands token, a little like steemit without the effectiveness.

BandettaGreen35d80.jpg

It was born on the principle of Kevin Kelly's articles '1000 True Fans' and 'Better than Free'. I was really inspired to find a way to get exposure and resources to good bands so they weren't lost in the noise. Fuck that noise.

I spent a lot of time and energy on it, I had a cofounder who months into it turned to me and asked for clarification on what exactly he was doing there. I had sit downs and meeting with bands and incubators who equally agreed it was cool but equally admitted they didn't understand anything.

Model3fd61e.jpg

Short story long I missed the fact that money and art are like water and oil, if you create an extrinsic incentive for a fan to like a band then they aren't motivated as much as if it were purely intrinsic to them. Other startups are doing similar things and power to them, I just don't think it will work that way.

A few months later I found the work of Ryan Leslie who controls all his fan relationships personally through an app he developed on his phone. Granted he had already build this fan base through a label before leaving but the principle of owning that relationship directly and being able to sell directly to them is smart, he is a millionaire.


Nirvana has easy bass lines

Anyway, thats me. Other than starting my new food service, (oh so close to the beach) I'm starting to draw again and have done some comic pieces. I might post some more up.

Scan5c7dbf.jpg

Scan4b8da.jpg

My first post:
Follow me here:
My previous post:
Sort:  

Simply Great Information and Presentation

Simply Great Information and Presentation

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 55157.38
ETH 2317.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33