Introduce Yourself: My First Steemit Post! I am a blogger, makeup artist, and yoga teacher trainee--I am doing all of my favorite things and loving every minute of it.

Hi everyone! My name is Alexa Owens and I am a blogger, makeup artist, and yoga teacher trainee--I am doing all of my favorite things and loving every minute of it.

photo 3.jpg

This path is fairly new to me, and I would love to share how I got to this point in my life. I graduated from Florida State University with my Bachelor's degree and immediately headed to graduate school to pursue my Master's degree in Speech-Language Pathology. I have ALWAYS had a passion for writing and for makeup, but that little voice in my head kept telling me "that isn't a stable career, it''s just a hobby, blah, blah" and I listened to it. So I kept going with what I thought would be the more responsible choice--a career in the health field. After completing 1 full year of graduate school, I was very unhappy. I was dreading going to class, I was nervous all of the time, and I was constantly frustrated with how everything was going. Finally, in the Walmart parking lot, I had a mini "what am I doing" breakdown while on the phone with my mom. She asked me a simple question: "If you could do anything you wanted to, what would it be?" and pretty quickly I responded with "doing makeup and writing about it". So there you have it, right then and there in my car I knew that while Speech Pathology is an amazing field that helps so many people, I knew I could not do that for the rest of my life and be happy. I started researching how to take my makeup path more seriously, my fiancé signed me up for certification classes, I decided to pursue teaching yoga and started a 10 month/300 hour program, and I officially started my blog. I have never felt better and I know that I am truly doing what I am supposed to be doing.

Was this choice easy? Hell no. I was extremely terrified, second guessing myself constantly, losing sleep, and worrying it would all fail and then what would I do? But I knew that I had to try. If I didn't give it a shot, I would regret that and always have that "what-if" in the back of my mind. It has now been around 4 months since I made my decision to change my path, and I have worked on 4 films as a makeup artist and hair stylist, I have been an associate producer and special effects technician on other film projects, I have my own IMDb page, I did my first wedding makeup application, I am up to 149 blog followers, I am 4 months away from graduating as a yoga instructor, and in 4 months I marry my very best friend.

081A7893.jpg

I am the first person to say that change is scary, but I also know that sometimes it is necessary. Life is short, so why not spend it doing what you love?

My Blog www.lexsloves.com
Instagram @lexs_loves
Facebook @Lexsloves
IMDb https://pro-labs.imdb.com/name/nm9487781/?ref_=nm_subnv_overview

You can find my Portfolio on my website!

I am excited to start sharing my journey here on Steemit and I can't wait to see where all of this takes me. Never give up and never settle, because you can do it.

A little extra info about me: I love cats, my baby girl Amelia is everything to me! We are about to get our first puppy together, we have already named her Luna and are so incredibly excited. I love desserts and chocolate is a main food group. My family is my world, and I would do anything for them.

IMG_7944.JPG

IMG_7787.JPG

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit Lexa!!! Can't wait for you to show me the ropes :)

Welcome. Those cats and dogs are so cute :3

Welcome to Steem. Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.
Also get to know more about Steem reading the Steem Blue Paper and share your feedback on our Steem Blue Paper Awareness Initiative
All the Best!!!

Welcome! Let's be friends here.

Welcome!

I wish you all the best.

Feel free to check out my blog @maxdigi, this way we can support each other.
Cheers
maxidigi

welcome!follow me , Good girl)

Welcome!! I look forward to your post :)

Hi welcome to steemit. You can join this new whatsapp group for help and tips for you to make it in steemit
https://chat.whatsapp.com/HpvRESoXEOM9v2p5qd3ILQ

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61152.47
ETH 2665.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55