Let's Talk Liberty: Introduction

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

Hi everyone! My name is Steve and I live in the US. I am a libertarian, college drop-out, and a huge crypto-currency enthusiast looking to become more active in the fight for liberty. As a libertarian (who is very close to anarchist), I just chose to ignore politics and government. I figured how could I give attention to something that I don't even see as legitimate? Well, I can only ignore the daily onslaught of doom and gloom news for so long. I can only ignore the trampling of liberty and human rights for so long. Simply put: it is time to stand up for liberty.

There are a ton of people, better than myself, who have been doing this for years and years and who have served as my inspiration. People like Ben Swann who runs Truth in Media, Jeff Berwick who runs The Dollar Vigilante (he's on Steemit!!), Luke Rudkowski who runs We Are Change (he's also on Steemit!!), Jason Stapleton who runs the Jason Stapleton Program, Tom Woods who runs the Tom Woods show, and many, many others who have said "Enough is enough, I am standing up for what is right."

Just look at where I am posting right now! Centralized social media corporations and big governments have chosen censorship over free speech (not necessarily surprising). Did we sit and take it? Nope! The market said "Ok cool, here is something that is not only more secure than what we are used to, it's censorship free as well!" Each and every person on this platform right now is part of something historic, a movement that says enough with big government and corporatism.

For a while, I have so eagerly wanted to contribute to this movement by spreading the message and educating people. I planned to start a blog called "Let's Talk Liberty" where I can try and get others to put politics aside and just talk about liberty. Everything these days seems to be right vs. left or republican vs. democrat. Why do we need to give a direction or party to every single issue when most often times, neither is fighting for liberty?

I wanted to create content for people who are liberty minded, like myself and many others on this platform right now, and for people who maybe have never even uttered the word liberty before. I want to grab the audience of liberty lovers and have content filled with facts and articulate arguments that they can use when debating others. And, I want to grab the audience of people not exposed to liberty and use those arguments and facts to show that hey, it is never a good thing when liberty is trampled.

Monetizing a blog these days is difficult though. Plus, when starting out, there is an advertising expense to try and let people know that you exist. Then, it takes a long time to actually gather a following. Luckily for humanity, Steemit was born! Not only is it a great platform for creating content and earning money for it, but the audience seems to mostly be fellow liberty lovers!

So, I don't know how this will work out. I plan to post at least weekly, hopefully more frequently, about an issue or news event or libertarian principle. I want to say thank you to everyone who took the time to read my introduction. With it now out of the way, let's put the doom, gloom, and politics aside, and let's talk liberty.

Sort:  

I'll play. So what is liberty in the present human condition and circumstance? There are probably as many answers to that as their are individual minds thinking. For me liberty means the freedom to think my thoughts, share them without consequences, build a shelter, grow my own food, associate with who I choose, the opportunity to be a productive contributing member to myself, family, community and biosphere. Freedom to go where I choose, love who I choose, learn what interests me, plant trees, live the life that is guided by my own values and principles. Just a few principles of liberty from my pov. thanks for asking, oc

@optimistic-crone I want to reply and have a conversation, but your tone suggests that's not what you want: "I'll play. So what is..." or "thanks for asking, oc." Am I misinterpreting this? If so, let me know so we can talk about what liberty is

The gem cannot be polished without friction nor man without trials.

What's the best way to spend $1,000,000?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67578.10
ETH 3250.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64