Getting my Steem On - quite literally - see my pic ;-)

20170620_190740.jpg
Hey everyone! I'm new here - and I'm getting my steem on - quite literally as you can see from my picture lol. My husband's cellphone didn't quite capture the steam coming out of the cup but at least my glasses were helpful enough to capture some ;-)

How I got to Steemit

I came across steemit the first time when an unschooling mother shared an article she wrote on steemit, sharing how it could be a cool platform for blogging and making some money on the side. I didn't give it too much attention at the time. Later, my friend Mike McDonald (known as @worldclassplayer) and his girlfriend Kim Kline (known as @kimzilla) brought the Steemit platform to my attention once again. Having known them for years - and knowing that they really investigate things before making up their mind about it, I decided to jump on the Steem Wagon.

Why I see the value in Steemit

I've been blogging for about nine years - Steemit being a blogging platform alone gives me good reason to join the platform.
I grew up in Belgium, a first world country - and moved to South Africa, a third world country 8 years ago. Having experienced both sides of the current economic paradigm pushed me to question viability and alternatives. In this quest, I ended up studying a BA in Human Sciences with specialization in Politics, Economics and Philosophy. The aim of the BA to develop critical outlooks and problem-solution perspectives on current political and economical play outs. This in many ways both disappointed and inspired me. Mainstream economics is an absolute dead-end and anyone with an ounce of common sense quickly realizes this. You're presented with some faulty premises and after that end up studying all the ways everyone's trying to fix the consequences of such an unsound foundation and how to work with completely hypothetical - no-real-world-application graphs. But hey, at least you look intelligent doing all those scribbles. Having also studied the African perspective - who've had the unfortunate opportunity to experience the shadow side of our global economic paradigm, and were as a result very critical of it; there was also inspiration knowing that not everyone's getting bullshitted on and that there's many looking at alternative plans.

I firmly believe that everyone deserves a dignified life simply on the basis that one is alive and existent in this world.
I find that Steemit approximates this by rewarding all the users on the platform simply by being a part of it, and getting extras for participating.

Some Personal Background

I'm an unschooling mother, I have a 3,5 year old son with my husband Gian ( @gian) and a bunch of my best friends on a farm - where we live in a community style set-up. We have parrots, dogs, cats, horses, chickens and one duck. Oh and some random Egyptian Goose that decided to hang around - just because.
I'm a life coach, graphic designer, crafter, baker, blogger, reader and nature/animal lover when I'm not out and about with my son.

Thanks for reading and see you around!

15099455_515422578666088_3430412966548209664_n.jpg

Sort:  

So Awesome to see you here @leilazamoram

Mooooooo Meeeeeeee Maaaaaa Moooooo Meeeeeee

For Cesar and the wonderful singing!

Haha - you should know that in the meantime his singing has changed to 'I don't know where I am but I am here ioowwaaweeewee'

Hello & a Welcome to Steemit @leilazamoram,
considering your glasses you had a very hot tea of coffe...LOL

I am @digital-gypsy - nice to meet you !

I would just start following and talk to the people here first, with the time
i am sure the trend is going up with you !

bienvenida, willkommen and velkommen

Good Luck & Cheers

Thanks for the warm welcome!

Welcome aboard!

Thanks!

You picked a good time!

Hi Leila, welcome!

I firmly believe that everyone deserves a dignified life simply on the basis that one is alive and existent in this world.

Yes, I do, too! And like you, I believe Steemit does a great contribution towards that.

Your community style life sounds wonderful!

Happy steeming :)
Anja

Thanks @connecteconomy - see you around :)

Leila!! So glad you started blogging on Steemit!

Welcome Home Leila :) One and Equal. :)

Thanks for the welcome @flatearth, interesting stuff on your blog!

Thanks Leila :) This world is certainly a fascinating place. :)

A big warm Steemit welcome goes out to you Leila! :-D

Upvoted and High Pawed.

IMG_1439.JPG

Flatrider

Hmm - looks more like a High Four - but I'll take it anyway :P

Welcome to the community. Ive just joined and going to post photos of my travels :) would be great if you could follow :)

Cool Ryan will check it out!

Welcome to Steem @leilazamoram I have sent you a tip

Welcome to this incredible platform, hope everything will work out for you. Being here it’s not easy but not difficult neither only an extra effort will go a long way, engagement is the key good luck I’m @tinashe Start by Following ,Upvoting &Resteeming people and they will do the same.

Thank you
resteem follow upvot gif.gif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63126.26
ETH 2596.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76