18 year old student, just trying to express herself.

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Like most writers, I crave self expression. I need to express myself like I need to drink water. And this is where I have decided to do it. I want to go on a creative journey on Steemit and I hope I can make some friends to go through it with me. I intend to write about anything I get the urge to write about, but my main focuses will be on Art, Poetry, Science, any short stories I happen to think of, and Photography.  I am aware of the rewards on this site and even though I hope I can earn money, that is not my sole motivator. I hope to produce a body of writing that I can be proud of. I have taken writing jobs before where I didn't care about what I was writing about, and it sucked the soul out of me. I won't be doing it again.

Who am I?

Sometimes, I don't even know the answer to that question, but I can tell you the facts about me. My name is Leigh, I'm eighteen, I grew up in England but I currently live in Ireland. I'm a student and I'm interested in science, art, poetry, current events, comic books, film and television, and books. I think that sums me up right there. I have a lot of ideas about a lot of things and I  hope to express them all on this platform. 

I think you can tell a lot about a person by their favourite book, so if I'm going to introduce myself I might as well start there. I have two favourite books, each I have read cover to cover more times than I can count. The Catcher In The Rye by JD Salinger and The Perks Of Being A Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky. These books have been my greatest inspiration in writing and they have given me something to relate to when I have been going through hard times in my life. Both books give us the journey of a young person who thinks differently, who feels deeply and thinks too much, which I can relate to a lot. 

If anyone is reading this, what's your favourite book? How has it inspired you in your life?

Sort:  

"Sapiens" is one of my recent favorites - It just makes you think so much about things you would have never questioned!

I love books that do that, it's always great to expand your beliefs and philosophies.

Nice to meet you, @leighreilly! Welcome to Steemit!

Hello there! I really enjoyed your post and I would have to say that the hunger games trilogy is one of my favorite stories. Made me realize things could always be worse.

Hi, I really like The Hunger Games too :D I preferred the books to the movies.

Welcome to the platform! Looking forward to seeing your work

Hey, Leigh and welcome! Great to have you here on Steemit, an artistic soul :) One of my favorite books is: "How To Win Friends And Influence People" by Dale Carnegie. It has greatly inspired me to appreciate other people! Looking forward to your art-related posts! :) Best of luck

I am into healthy lifestyle, mind, motivation and more in case you would like to visit my channel :) VALUE guaranteed

Welcome to steemit @leighreilly. Join #minnowsupportproject for more help. Type in the comments of a post @OriginalWorks and it will help you verify that content is original.
Transfer SBD to @treeplanter to plant trees and get an get an upvote in exchange of your donation (Min 0.01 SDB)
Upvote this comment to keep helping more new steemians
Transfer SBD to @tuanis in exchange of an upvote and support this project

Do have a wonderful stay on the platform.
Success starts with a step but there will definitely be challenges ahead because before birth comes the travail of a mother in pains but let goal ahead inspire you to keep going higher. Keep steeming am @inspiredgideon1

Hey, I'm Oatmeal Joey, and I love reading.

Hi Oatmeal Joey

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64867.61
ETH 3451.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55