Peace and Blessings Steemit!

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Peace be upon all in the steemit community, I hope everyone is doing well on this beautiful day. My name is Brother Robert Downs, and I'm located in Austin, Texas USA. I am a local community leader and activist involved in the Austin Local Organizing Committee, which is composed of 4 different community outreach services. They include conflict resolution, disaster preparedness, money mob fundraising, and sustainable agriculture. I am one of the heads of the sustainable agriculture program known as "Seed to Scientist" and we teach a class at the George Washington Carver museum every first Saturday of the month from 1pm-4pm.

DSCN4801.JPG

I am in the process of bringing forth new ideas on how local organizing committee can benefit from blockchain technology, and get the youth involved so they are not left behind during the great technological advance we are currently experiencing.

DSCN3419.JPG

I noticed many people basically exist through the work week, and only truly live on the weekends, and curse Monday for coming again... Rinse, repeat until retirement. I am fortunate enough not to be in that boat, as I don't view my employment situation as just a job, but more like taking part in a revolution. I work in the front office of an amazing charter school known as Texas Empowerment Academy, alongside some of the greatest educators in world. Having a positive influence on a young mind is one of the greatest revolutionary acts, as you are literally shaping the future. I love when Monday rolls around, sometimes I'm so excited it's hard to sleep thinking about what the day is going to bring.

20161118_085515.jpg

in 2012, I came to the conclusion that health is the most important focus in our lives... I don't care what type of political plan, social plan, economic plan you develop, it's absolutely worthless if you don't have your health in tact. A good friend of mine was told that he would never walk again after a near fatal dump truck accident. Watching him prove doctors wrong by walking again, I was motivated to start up a holistic health and essential oil company called Beyond Botany. I have had some local success over the years, helping a few people reverse some of their health problems, but this year I am looking to expand the knowledge and wisdom across the globe, to create a better understanding world wide that health is the real wealth.

_BP_4575HD.jpg

_BP_4638.JPG

_BP_4943.JPG

My garden is my heart, and I'm super excited that spring time is approaching. I've been gardening for over 10 years, and I'm still learning. I love teaching kids how to grow their own food and medicine, as I believe it's a skill that can change your life. My daughter is my gardening partner and her thumbs are pretty green... She's definitely my biggest inspiration.

20160603_191818.jpg

20150318_140020hd.jpg

20140723_094152hd.jpg

DSCN3281.JPG

20160515_185945.jpg

20229048_1536035103126190_7395671735479116530_n.jpg

I am excited about sharing and learning with you all, we have the power to impact the world, lets rock!!

Sort:  

Welcome... on Steem...

Thanks for the welcome wilku, I'm glad to be a part of the awesome community!

Much appreciated conradino23, peace and blessings be upon you!

How awesome @lefthandlead ! I love it and happy to meet you I’m following and excited to see more from your world You are so right Health and our children is what matters How fantastic to live such a meaningful life

@trudereed I appreciate the kind words. I was inspired by great holistic healers such as Dr. Sebi and Minister Enqi, it's only right to share the knowledge I have gained by following their work. I send you wishes of peace and prosperity!

I have a deep interest in the field too and created a company called Truly Wild which is about using the wild herbs and foods I have a line of raw sweets and crackers incorporating these I also love the essential oils, and keen to learn I’ll check out Dr Sebi and minister Enqi I also plan to be sharing more info here on Steemit I’ve just started out myself, figuring out how it works

@trudereed Your company sounds awesome, you're touching an important area. Dr. Sebi was a master herbalist and I believe giving him your ear has the possibility of motivating new ideas for your business venture.

Congratulations @lefthandlead! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I like the reward system, very motivating.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61143.97
ETH 3363.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51