Hello folks - US expat living the dream in OZ

Hi Steemit folks!

It's exciting to join you all. The world is headed in a bizarre direction, probably some rough times, but mostly beautiful. It's important for me to be part of solutions. I've done my share of griping about Uncle Sam. (did you know that those grubs tax my Aussie income?!),...ok maybe I have some more griping left in me. I'll just try to keep it to a minimum...Anyway, freedom will win and I'm stoked to be partnering with other world changers.

I grew up in Bible-Belt USA, studied some architecture in Charlotte, graduated in 2008. Some of the 1st jobs to go down the tubes were design interns with no practical experience (thanks public education). So, in need of some adventure and 'finding myself', I set out to Australia and quickly found myself part of a great spiritual community in Byron Bay.

It didn't take long to find an amazing woman, and lucky for me, she dug me too. The next 3 years were a wondrous blur, we had our 1st son, bought a bookshop cafe with no previous business experience, and then had another son (who I got to deliver in our room! the midwife showed up a cruisey 45 minutes later)

I've done quite a lot of woodworking, making hammered dulcimers and banjos, I've been making some gnarly moonshine (staying true to my roots), and just getting into bitcoin mining. My spiritual journey has lead me to studying Kabbalah, but have also gotten inspired by Eastern thinking as well, Daoism, Kabir, Hafiz, ... I'm learning the value of challenging myself squashing my selfishness.

Most of my post will be financial research done by my brother. He's a wild-man! He's been traveling around Vietnam, Thailand, China, Mongolia, and India for the last 4 or 5 years, writing articles for investment funds.

Sort:  

Nice to read! Do you have some pictures of your dulcimers? :) I'm a Hammered Dulcimer player as well, so always interested in seeing that^^

Welcome to steemit! Sounds like you have had an interesting life. Looking forward to seeing your posts around :)

Welcome @leepinleepers, here is an upvote and follow to help you begin!

Welcome to Steemit @leepinleepers. See U around!!! :)

Welcome to Steemit! :))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64867.61
ETH 3451.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55