Introduceyourselfhelloworld

Kia Ora WORLD!

My names is Laurent also known as Ele. I was born in Auckland, raised in Taupo and blessed to be from the land of the long white cloud, Aotearoa New Zealand.

IMG_2456.jpg

I am an artist and have slowly built my own independence through my passions and the desire to be apart of something bigger than myself.
Since I can remember I have loved music and dance, so as soon as I was old enough I moved from Taupo to Auckland to explore my dreams.

Through meeting the right people and mentors early into my journey I was able to learn, travel and have incredible experiences.

Throughout my dance career I have been one of the Co directors for Triple8funkdance company, competed at The World Hip Hop Championships, featured in Disney’s Camp Rock the Tasman a Performing Arts Competition (NZ VS AUS-NZ Won), Choreographed and danced for Air NZ's safety video "Men In Black" as promo for the rugby world cup, and also choreographed TV commercials such as Earth Care, KFC and Spark and Auckland Pride Parade.

In the last decade I have performed in different events and showcases throughout Japan, NYC, NZ and Australia. Since 2005 I have been teaching dance to ages 3-60+. I love teaching old school HipHop, Grooves, Break dancing and and when necessary choreography. For the first 5 years I was also have trained in Jazz, contemporary and salsa.

Currently I am the Assistant Head Judge for HHI NZ and an Elite Judge for HipHop International.
This year I will be looking forward to being back for my third time judging at the World HipHop Championships.
NZ bring home medals every year and are currently the two time world champions in the adults division. Something that has never been done before. When you are there it is like the HipHop Olympics with all nations, battles, crew comps, workshops, clothingstalls, it's really incredible.

IMG_3675.jpg

IMG_3197.jpg

One of the highlights in my dance career was when myself and Jody (Bgirl Nossy) won NZ's Battle of the Year 2 on 2 Bgirl competition. We went on to represent NZ at the Battle of the Year Finals held in Germany in 2014. Unfortunately we did not win, but we battled the defending champions who also won it that year again, so we flew all that way and got to battle THE BEST!

NOSSY AND LEGEND 4.jpg

I also love to write and perform spoken word poetry.
After moving to Melbourne, Austrlia to be a part of Triple8funk's new base and develop my dancing opportunities further, I ended up entering a spoken word competition from reading a news paper. After placing 2nd I was amazed people wanted to hear my thoughts and stories and went to on to compete at the Victorian State Finals.
Soon after I become a facilitator for The Centre for Poetics and Justice and doing my first poetry tour around NZ with Luka Lesson.
I am currently a member of The South Auckland Collective Poets and taught poetry throughout the community and education institutions. My highlight was being invited to teach poetry and at Camp Amerikids in NYC. Another life changing experience.

Another one of my favourite hobbies and something which also takes up my time is my passion for music. I enjoy writing my own and performing when the opportunity rises. Music for me is about the people and I hope to heal with words and fresh funky beats people can have a good boogie to!
IMG_0909.jpg

The more I do what I love for a job the more recently I have wanted to find a new sense of balance.
After working part time in an organic super market for 7years before I went full time in the arts, I found an extreme interest and fascination in health, real food and the body.
This lead me to join a company named Usana Health Sciences and become an Associate. I run my own business from home while studying to be a Health Coach at IIN. I am looking forward to being a graduate in September 2017.

Hello Steem Community!! I am really excited to connect with you all and read what you have to share.

Sort:  

Now THAT is one of the best introductions I've read here on Steemit. You will find great acceptance here for many of your stated passions. Best of luck to you. Re-Steemed and Promoted.

Hi there m4eve!
Thank you so much for the welcome. You are my first conversation on steemit and I appreciate your support so much. I look forward to getting to know yourself and others also :).

Hi, noeva.
Thank you. Hope your having a lovely day!

Welcome to the club! Follow me at https://steemit.com/@bitgeek

Thanks bitgeek. Will do!

Welcome to Steemit! Nice introduction post; it sounds like you have a variety of interests.

Thanks lightsplasher. yes I love to enjoy life as best as I can.
What a great community this is :)

Welcome to Steemit @laurentele Post, vote, comment, follow, resteem and manage your rewards well for your future too. Have fun being here.

thank you!! def still have a lot of learning to do.. will get my head around and look forward to making new friends and reading good information.

You're awesome. Followed. ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59249.61
ETH 2526.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46