Hey Steemit, My name is Laura Lemons, and I am a noob.

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

Hello, my name is Laura Lemons. Here is a bit about me.




Hello. My name is, now, Laura Lemons. I was born to another name and legally still carry it but refuse to identify with it because it's the name of my abusers. So I gave myself this name 1.5 years ago, and it kinda stuck, really hard. I plan to get it legally changed once I have the funds.

I had a very hard childhood and upbringing, including but not limited to, sexual abuse, homelessness, and an alcoholic mother. I plan to write about my childhood, upbringing, coping, and adult life here on my blog. I hope to reach some other people who face similar struggles.

I also make art, avidly and usually try to exorcise my personal demons with my artwork. I love painting and sculpting. I also make adult coloring books, of a certain sad girl niche. I am going to start making custom journals soon and also I knit! I have so many hobbies and can't live any other way.

Here I am with one of my paintings. It sold to a stranger for $200 and was a big day for me!



Less than a year ago, my absolute best friend died, that was the most defining moment of my entire life thus far, and there's been a lot of moments, many of them huge. That one changed me as a person more than any other and changed my entire perception of life, love, and friendship.



I am about to make a big move to a rather isolated town where I know only one person. This move was forced by me developing an incurable disease that is called interstitial cystitis. I can't work a normal job and live in constant pain. One perk, is I will have medicaid there, and can hopefully, eventually find pain relief. I also plan to use the time to write my memoirs and self-publish them.

Oh, I am also insanely into my cat. She is the reason I have not killed myself every time I came close. She's a bitch, and she needs me and is totally unadoptable. Here she is:


Sort:  

Good bye Laura. This is Dean Liu and I wasn't privileged enough to know you. Wish you find your peace in another world where you can sing and laugh all day long.

Terribly sorry to hear about your best friend :( But on a more positive note, I think you'll fit right in to Steemit! Welcome! :D

I love that painting! I Love that you changed your name! When I first met you on Facebook I was jealous of your name because Iove it haha!

Thank you. It's going to be official as soon as possible but I've been using it for years already. :) It really fits me.

Nice to have you around!

Welcome to Steemit Laura, Looking forward to read your stories.

Thank you! <3

Good luck all the best, there are many nice peeps in the world, I hope you find yours

Thank you. I am working toward finding my place. :)

and I love that one too. I actually want to paint another for me.

@lauralemons - I wished I could have known you earlier... in piecing your life through the posts on your account over these couple of years, and the outpouring of emotions from all the people here whose lives you have touched, I wish that the future of steemit can and will do better to bring compassion and support for people like you and show the rest of the world that there is a better place if we all do something to make it so.

We miss you Laura. Happy Christmas wherever you are. x

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57849.42
ETH 3122.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43