This is too much for one person - Can we help? It's such an important cause!

I posted a request for a recommendation on Facebook a few days ago because I needed some help to move some boxes from a man with a van.

christmas.jpg

I had a message from a man who kindly offered to help me anytime for just a donation to his project.

He has bought a bus to use as a night shelter for the homeless in our local town. Other towns in the UK have successfully set up bus shelters for the homeless rather quickly due to local community support from tradesmen and donations.

16422881_1603191916364389_4911928151869990791_o.jpg

Unfortunately, despite putting the word out there as much as possible, although people share the posts and the local papers print articles, raising the funds to convert this road-worthy bus still seem so far away to seeing the bus completed and running daily.

17359034_1649522131731367_8329265673371984536_o.jpg

I looked through some of the posts on Facebook last night and someone had posted a status about a homeless man outside the local supermarket. Tony went out all night because he could not sleep knowing the man was out in the cold. He takes hot drinks and blankets to local people on the streets every night.

I am due to meet up with Tony today or tomorrow and I can't wait to get involved with his project. But it is very cold outside, and time is precious, so I wanted to get this post out there in the hope to get the ball rolling for raising some money to complete this inspirational venture!

There is a Justgiving page for donations:

https://www.justgiving.com/crowdfunding/the-busshelter-kent?utm_source=Facebook&utm_medium=Yimbyprojectpage&utm_content=the-busshelter-kent&utm_campaign=projectpage-share-owner&utm_term=A2ZKaYaGE

I will also be donating any money made from this post. Let's help get this up and running now, it's cold and this bus could save a lot of lives.

When I asked Tony realistically how much he needed to make the shelter functional, he said £6,000. Although to any individual person this is a lot of money, it is surely not a lot to raise with a small donation from many people. !

He has asked local tradesmen to spare a few hours to doing the work required, and he has done as much as he can but there has been a disappointing response from the local community it seems.

16426221_1606956399321274_7318899932121883084_n.jpg

Please share this post - the more people who people who see it, the quicker people can be helped.

I am hoping that this will also be another positive gain from the good of Blockchain Technology.

Sort:  

wonderful story. This is the best story I read today. Thank you so much. I hope you have a wonderful xmas this year and many years to come. I keeping eye on you now :-)

Thank you. I am just so eager to help get this up and running.

Welcome to Steemit laurabean and I'm sure you'll have a great time here!! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66258.39
ETH 3170.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.07