Hello, world!

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

And hello, Steemit community!

0-02-04-a907ca22c847d04036fc76329dc832f4d76af3329ef2077d922d332684508697_full.jpg

It’s always difficult for me to write this first post, wherever I start writing!

What you need to know for now is that I’m Laura Dali, and that I come from a beautiful little banana country from the Balkans.

I am an English graduate with both BA and MA with honours in English philology, with a major in translation and interpreting, and a minor in teaching.

I used to work, and work at the moment, again, as an English teacher at both primary and secondary schools, but my aspiration is to settle down at university, be it at home or abroad. I am trying to get a post at uni, however I have been unsuccessful in it so far – due to the banana country policy that governs the lives or people around me.

I enjoy translating and interpreting and do it from time to time, when people ask me to. Although this work is relatively intermittent and highly underpaid, it helps me pay the bills and sometimes fill my thin budget. This is how I am familiar with hearing impairment and hearing aids, psychology, railway reconstruction, millennials, globalisation, new media in education, teaching, canoeing, sports, physical education, brand personality, consumers self, counter ambush marketing, sustainable development, rural tourism, home décor, and many, many more.

I also used to work as a copywriter, content writer and community manager at a full-service web design agency, but got sick and tired of it due to the exploitation policy my boss based and runs his business on for years now. That is how I learn that majority of content online sucks – because it is written by people like me, just for the sake of pot boiling.

Luckily, I learnt immensely much there, mostly about myself and what I expect to get from work (other than money). Working there, I familiarized myself with Facebook, Twitter, Linkedin, Pinterest, Delicious, Reddit, Instagram and Google+; and used to write about IT, web and graphic design, SEO and digital marketing, social networks and community management, ultrasound scans for both men and women, real estate, waste management and equipment, medical tourism, food supplements and sports equipment, dog breeding, cycling, and the like. Additionally, as a ghost writer for black hat SEO companies, I used to write about green living, party planning, fashion and makeup, family life, health, nutrition, love, and so many, many more. Resulting from this never ending list of topics I could talk about, you can expect to read here about my experiences and knowledge gained the hard way.

In my free time, I run a local handball club’s fan website that, at one point, used to be ranked in the top 3 results in Google search, but my colleagues and I had to invest a lot of time, effort, skills and knowledge into achieving it. I still write for it, yet not as often as before, because since I moved to another town I now rarely visit the games.
Long time ago, when blogging was not the IT thing that everyone knew about, I started (and closed) several blogs in some local platforms, then moved to Google’s blog, and stuck with WordPress as it provides the most to me as the end user. What is interesting about these is that I used to play in HTML long before I knew what it was called or what its purpose was.

I intend writing about my travelling around Europe, because so far I’ve been to Greece, Macedonia, Bulgaria, Croatia, Montenegro, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Italy, Hungary, Germany, Poland, the Netherlands, Belgium, and I am quite sure there’s at least one country I forgot to mention. Most of these journeys were either completely free, or I paid very little for them, so this is where you could learn how to get to travel the world for free – if you are able to extract the point behind my writing.

Other than that, let’s see where this thing goes and if I am able to make some use of it.

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit!
I am a bot built for the purposes of welcoming new users! You are receiving this message as you have used the #introduceyourself tag! I know that steemit may seem very overwhelming to you right now but don't worry. There's a learning curve to everything so just be patient and you'll be churning out posts and becoming a part of something great in no time!

Also if there are any questions that you may have, then just ask your questions on any of my blog posts and I'll be more than happy to assist you with whatever questions you may have! I will also be creating a basic starting out guide for all minnows and newcomers on my blog so do give it a read as that might help answer many of your questions!

Have fun and I wish you LOADS of success on here! :)

Also. you can call upon originalworks whenever something you post is your own content like this: @originalworks

Regards
@welcome-to-steem

Thanks, will surely check it all out!

I want to use this medium to welcome you into the steemit community. You are definitely going to enjoy your stay here.
As in the majority, you might have come with the mindset of making some buck into your wallet, but I tell you, the benefits here is more than that.
Take your time to make quality posts, the reward and recognition May not be intact, but it will be surely worthwhile in the long run.
Also, try to make friends and connect with people sincerely.
Do have a lovely stay on this platform of intellectuals. KEEP STEEMING!

Thanks! I will definitely keep steeming!

Welcome to Steemit.
This is a platform that rewards you for your actions and transactions, but the truth is, it sounds simple but it is deeper. I know a community that can help you settle in as soon as possible and show you around.
You have to grab the opportunities all around you. At Steem Schools we give you knowledge and educate you how we make $500 in your first month yon steemit.
Be a part of our discord channel because in Steemitschool we only win together.
Join us on discord
https://discord.gg/rdgU5tt

Thanks, I will look into it!

Nice text. I will follow your next posts. Cheers.

Thanks! I'm glad you like it!

Hello Excellent article, you're done! Welcome to Steemit, I'm glad to new friends and have followed you, I hope you will follow me as well, wish you successful development of your blog

Thanks! I tried to write it the best I could. Glad you like it, and I hope you will come back more!

Hello welcome to steemit!! it's really nice to have you here enjoy the platform and explore the community.....wish you all the best.

Thanks! I just arrived to the platform and need to learn a lot about it. Looking forward to it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58754.61
ETH 2507.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47