Hi Steemit community! It's my first post!

Hello fellow Steemians! My name is Lalitha. I grew up in a small city on the island of Borneo in Southeast Asia, but I now live in Kuala Lumpur, the capital of my country.

A friend, @kevinwong, introduced me to Steemit when he was sharing with me stories of his travels to Amsterdam for SteemFest, where he was to meet the trailblazing folks of the Steemit community. My interest was piqued the moment he mentioned, “paid for writing” and “mostly made up of anarchists”.

I must admit it took me a while to muster up the courage to post something up, even after having created an account for so long. I’ve shared my reasons for hesitation with him previously, but I've come to realise that I’d definitely regret not joining more than I would doing so.

Growing up, I was surrounded by beaches and books. And though a little child I was then, already I knew, in my young heart, that I somehow was a little different and a little too free-spirited for my own good. I bought my first techno CD when I was 12, though I had zero comprehension of or appreciation for its musicality back then. I just felt compelled to be part of a subculture I hardly understood. My mum once told me, as a toddler, she once tried putting ribbons in my hair as she was dressing me up – I tore the ribbons off the minute she put it on. Painstakingly she tried again, only to be met by little Lali’s tiny fists of fury. I guess I wasn’t a very obedient child to begin with.

My Indian dad and Chinese-Filipino mum (both doctors, strait-laced and strict as hell - bless their souls) raised me with many of the traditional values you’d find in an Asian home, but with perhaps one rare exception. They taught me to question life and everything inside and around it, and to seek the answers I craved out for myself. That is why I will forever be indebted to them, despite the multitude of rattan whacks and belt whips they've ever delivered to my rear end. They sowed in me the beautiful seeds of autonomy, freedom, and independent thinking when they taught me to seek the truth.

I enjoy reading, writing, creating music, experiencing, and exploring. I’ve worn many hats in life – many gawdy, awful hats, but also some really fun and refreshingly unassuming ones. I’ve been a comedy theatre performer, a TV presenter, an accidental beauty queen (more on this in future posts), a nearly-lawyer and a PR consultant. I was also part of a funk rock band in Australia that disintegrated after one pub show- though our Facebook page lasted a good five years.

There’s much about the world and about my own self that I have yet to discover. Much of my life journey remains shrouded in mystery. For now, I’ll just take one step at a time, hopefully going in the right direction by following my heart and paying attention to the universe’s signs. 

I really am looking forward to sharing my musings on Steemit, and hopefully in the process I'm able to contribute some form of value to the community. Thanks for taking the time to read this - till the next post :)

Sort:  

Welcome to the community it's a pleasure meeting you "so to speak" There are some amazing people here and I believe you will be quite satisfied with your experience on Steemit.
I do wish to thank you for signing up though and hope you rake in the Steem.
Thanks & praise.

Thank you @viktorcapulet, it's been a pretty amazing past 36 hours. Thank you for the welcome. Peace and love.

Welcome to Steemit. :-)

“mostly made up of anarchists”.

I wish

too many capitalists

@anarchyhasnogods, aye but capitalism and anarchy can go hand in hand - in its purest form, both systems advocate for the supremacy of natural law in a free market above all other man-made laws, and both schools of thought favour voluntary exchanges :) very similar to Steemit!

uh no tard

Anarchy is the absence of all unjustified hierarchy

and guess what this pdf shows?
https://www.marxists.org/archive/marx/works/download/Marx_Wage_Labour_and_Capital.pdf

anarchist capitalists are as anarchist as christian scientists are scientists

welcome and greetings to Borneo. was there last year with my girlfriend. it's really nice there.

Thank you @blocklab. It's an island of untouched and undiscovered treasures.

Oh finally.. welcome! Took you some time :)

You're awake at this hour!! haha. better late to the party than never...:)

You should so totally soak up Steem and the cryptocurrency game and start a youtube talking about all these stuff like Amanda B Johnson :)

Steemit does indeed need its own Amanda B Johnson! Lot's of work in the PR area to be done.

@kevinwong @igster a friend of mine who trades stocks for a living wants in on this Youtube idea. He says "we may need to learn a thing or two about video editing..." lol. Am considering the idea.

Yes. Check out Amanda B Johnson's stuff for Dash coin on youtube. We need more crypto personalities! And not many around, and adoption is still considered super low.

You know, STEEM's price went up 4x now, since the day u joined. You're the lucky star :)

Hehe, everything takes practice and one has to start somewhere. Good luck if you decide to give it a try!

AND welcome to Steemit! and yes @kevinwong is a legend!

@kevinwong is a legend on here - we all love him. But for now we welcome you to Steemit Lalitha. Please do post like a mad minnow on here and have fun :) If you need any help, then just shout for me! ... (I'm in Scotland! ... a long way off!)

Thank you for the warm welcome @mindhunter (though from a relatively cold part of the world)! I'm still not super familiar with the platform, but I'll try my best to catch up with all the terms and technicalities soon :)

Don't worry, I see your reputation is rising already. Soon you'll know all the terms within a week! Good luck.

Welcome to steemit @lalithamonisha. Best of luck to you. You are already off to a great start!

Welcome to Steemit! It truly is a unique and awesome place!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66201.27
ETH 3279.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70