New to Steem? Don't upvote yet

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Steem is a great place. You (or at least I) can spend hours reading quality articles about almost any subject you can think of. Everything from Bitcoin to food, ghosts to cats. It's all here. It takes some time to learn the ropes. Who pays for my upvotes? What is the difference between trending, new and hot? How do I get followers? How do I get people to notice me? What did I earn for whatever I just did? Is that real money? How much real money is it? What's Discord? Who can I trust?

You'll find articles here that answer most of these questions and you should upvote them when you read them. You should upvote anything that helps you. In Steemit or in life. But, please don't just upvote posts because everyone seems to be. Things here are not always as they appear. A post may show lots of money earned when in fact the Steemian has bought some of those votes to make themselves look better. So read the post first. If you don't understand it, don't upvote it. You might be giving money to the wrong person. (No, the money doesn't come directly out of your wallet and it's good to upvote and interact with people.)

There are some wonderful people here. Salt of the earth type people. People who have probably been on the internet since it was created. Some will help you. Some will not. I've already met some very friendly folks. The millionaires/ billionaires are called Whales and they are fully capable of eating you. They get in fights from time to time and your best bet is to stay out of it.

It took me over two weeks of digging to figure out who some of the good guys (for me personally) are. There are some very scary people who are not bad, just big, and intimidating. Follow them, but stay out of their way. There are occasionally some people who will take advantage of your "newbieness". This isn't Facebook. If you don't understand a post, it hasn't helped you. Don't upvote it.

You know the difference between someone trying to help you and add value and someone trying to confuse you, right? There are some very confusing things being discussed here. The blockchain is still a mystery to me. If a post about the blockchain doesn't clear up some part of my confusion, I don't upvote.

Upvoting is like taking money out of the community pot and giving it to someone you think deserves it. Well, it isn't LIKE doing that. It pretty much IS doing that. Someone is going to get it and it's built into the system that you can only distribute a certain amount every so many days. But there are thousands of people and posts that deserve an upvote every day. Find them. You'll enjoy the site so much more if you do.

If you got anything out of this post I hope you'll upvote it, but only if you think it merits it. If you think it's helpful you can even resteem it. And if you'd like to follow me that would be great. But I'm only a minnow so there's no telling where I'll go. Oh! Look! some pretty flowers.

DSC_0027.JPG

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @lahvista! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Glad I was able to read this blog, I love being on steemit as well. I am able to get and read great information. =)

Very legit post you speak the truth i like that about you. I read and understood all of it thank you for your time, im still new here myself and wish you the best of luck on your journey. My up vote wont do anything because i did waste them not knowing what they really did but i understand now all thanks to you lahvista, keep up all the hard work i see your doing! I did a post on how crypto can be dangerous and how i think steemit will over take youtube one day and a video of my lovely dog playing hide and seek if you enjoy those types of things check my blog out thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64078.16
ETH 3471.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52