Hello world

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

As is customary, an introduction into the cyber sphere is in order. Here we are, August 2017. We find ourselves in spaces we never thought we would occupy in many cases with an unfortunate few that are exactly where they were 12 months ago. As for myself, I was a masters student in Pretoria, South Africa just before all of the strikes for #feesmustfall began, disrupting the fourth quarter at all of the universities across the country for the second year in a row. I was preparing my work for a local genetics conference as well as working towards compiling my final dissertation. I knew then that I couldn't realistically sign up for a PhD in Pretoria, or SA for that matter, and be satisfied with my life's decisions. Instead I packed my life into some suitcases, sold many of my possessions, and made my way across the equator to Germany to pursue the next piece of paper in my field in Germany a week ago. I made the decision months ago and bought the ticket in March without a job prospect, fully willing to do any odd job to make ends meet. Fortunately, I was given the opportunity to commence my PhD at a wonderful institute. I travel with Batbag and document our travels on Instagram in short snippets- our account is under the same username that is used here, so do give us a look and a like!

This brings me to the purpose of this blog. I aim to detail my travels and experiences in a new part of the world- a world far more wonderful than I could have imagined 12 months ago. These travels will feature Batbag and a variety of stories and anecdotes of experiences that cross my path. I will also decipher often difficult to read scientific papers from the biological sciences in a more user-friendly manner. If you have any suggestions or recommendations for these papers, please let me know and I will get around to them as soon as possible!

I look forward to contributing to the community and hearing from you!

IMG_20170727_125524.jpg
A quick look at Batbag before departure from the sunny South Africa a week ago

Until next time,
L

Sort:  

Welcome to family :)

Gotta love that Batbag!

I am also new on this platform, I followed you :D I hope you'll follow me too :D

Sure will! I look forward to interacting with you on these posts!

Welcome to Steemit! I am also traveler, I am going to follow you on Instagram and I am looking forward to your next posts. If you have time check out my profile :)

Hello and welcome to Steemit family and our ever-growing platform. You have made a great decision by joining us and helping us to create decentralized entity that will change the way social media and other business models work in the future. I would like to help you out in your early days by using my steem power to upvote your first few posts. Simply follow my account and tag me by @czechglobalhosts in your posts and I will make sure to read your post and upvote you! Good luck and steem on! Tomas

Hi @l73217 welcome to Steemit. I do hope that you have a wonderful time on this platform, if you have any questions or if there is anything I can help you with do not hesitate to ask, I will be more than happy to help.
Please Follow me @Fshllc so that your posts can appear on my feed and I can see them, read, comment and upvote. I look forward to good partnerships here on Steemit because together we are strong! Have a wonderful day :)

Hey there @l73217! Welcome to steemit :]

Welcome to Steemit!

Welcome to Steem @l73217 I have upvoted and sent you a tip

A new Steemian :-) hello @173217 I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community ! Nice post, wish you much luck! I Have upvoted and will follow your account. Don't hesitate to contact or follow me at any time :-) See you around @tradewonk

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66705.81
ETH 3626.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.93