New year New Me

Again and again, I think back to the last few years and think “what a waste”. And it was. A complete waste of time.

Loss of job, lack of eating, lack of money, you name it, I was there.

The end of 2017 ended rather surprisingly when I was invited back to my old retail job although a different store than I’d previously been in.

And it is at that new (to me) store that I found the new love of my life. I’ve known her for years and years, having met through the company, done stocktakes together and also clubbing together.

They’d always been an attraction between us and now we were working together, it was a mystery as to whether anything would happen. Unknown to me at the time, she was at the end of a rocky relation from which she felt trapped. Essentially, she was only in it because she had nowhere to go if she did leave him, a man over 25 years her senior. Luckily her dad relented and allowed her to move back home. And that’s that. She got out.

6EFDC403-6E76-4187-84C2-30E2C7E0C8C4.jpeg

Up to this point, we seemed to get closer and closer. Everyone around us could see it, some knowing of our history. They encouraged it. Of course, she was hesitant due to how long it had been since we had got out of the terrible relationship but for some reason it didn’t affect her like she thought.

Finally, in december, we came out as a couple. We work together but we have a strict policy of professionalism in the work place. No fooling around, no funny business, as simple as. Break and lunches being the exceptions of course.

And so, for that reason, 2017 was redeemed somewhat. Now all I need to do is raise a few £k to pay off some debt/arrears and I’m all set.

So...as I’ve said before, Happy 2018 to you all and I hope positive things happen for everyone like it has me.

EAAEB206-EC7D-43D0-9C75-A51A5D55AC28.jpeg

Sort:  

Congratulations on your plot twist! Life always has its own ways of surprising us. Wishing the best for both of you this 2018! <3

Hello I tailor. My name is @geekis, I blog about #marriageandrelationship. I love your short intro story but I also like your optimist mindset. You will sure love it here on steemit. Let's be friends. You can follow me if you don't mind.

@l5taylor,

This gem of a post was discovered by the @OCD Curators!

Please Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used on our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency!

Welcome to the Steemit Community, it is nice to see you joining us here!

Please reply to this comment, and I will share your post to the @ocd curators for possible extra views!

I accept. Thanks for reading! Will follow you!

@l5taylor, you can look into the @MinnowSupport Project, which is a community of over 8,000 other members of the Communty on Discord Chat where you can network, learn, and chat with other members of Steemit!

Thanks for offering to share my post with your readers. I accept and thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67010.34
ETH 2604.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72