Please I feel very depressed and hopeless what should I do

Almost every one of us has been in your shoes at one point or another.

All it takes is one thought to show up in your head and make you confused about the status of your life. When that thought continues to re-occur, it becomes like a cancer that makes the whole of your existence fit its negativity.

Here’s how you break the chain negative self-fulfilling thoughts

You start with one desire, one goal, and you devote every ounce of energy you have to it.

The way you break out of a depression and that feeling of not knowing what to do, where to go or how to live is by choosing ONE thing you want in life and doing everything in your power to make that happen.

You find one thing that you can learn to love about yourself, and then you allow that love to grow and permeate the rest of your existence.

Here’s what you told us:

You’re a student that doesn’t study.
You’re overweight. You lack confidence.
You don’t have as much money as you’d like.
You don’t get the appreciation or admiration you need or deserve from your boyfriend.
The first thing I want you to do is re-phrase everything to fit a GROWTH mindset rather than a FIXED mindset.

Try using these phrases when negative thoughts about yourself come up in your mind:

I’m a student, and I’m working on studying more consistently.
I would like to lose weight, and I can do it if I commit to making small changes to my diet and exercising.
I don’t have as much money as I’d like, but if I work hard at school, I will get a job that satisfies my personal and financial needs.
I can work on communicating to my boyfriend that I need more love and appreciation than I’m currently getting from him.
Without believing in the possibility of change, you will never work towards making that change a reality, so the first step is re-phrasing what happens in your mind.

When you hear “I’m fat,” you have to actively say to yourself, “I can take action to help me lose weight.” When you hear “I’m just not confident,” you have to actively say to yourself, “I can work on boosting my self-esteem, which will create more confidence in me.”

Next, choose ONE part of your life you want to work on. Choose the one you think is most important.

My recommendation is working on your weight goals will have the dual effect of creating confidence in you and changing the way you believe in whether or not you can turn your life around.

You said you’ve given up on many diets… heres what I propose… STOP dieting.

A diet entails a lot more than we actually need to lose weight.

Losing weight starts with the little things.

Cutting soda.
Limiting junk food.
Drinking a little more water.
Not eating late at night.
Taking a fast-paced walk for 10–15 minutes a day.
Choose ONE small step to take towards your ONE goal of weight loss.

Work on it until you’ve mastered it. Then choose another a few weeks down the line. Then another. You’ll realize that over time changes are happening, you’re losing weight by your OWN action, your OWN doing, your OWN decision making.

Then something happens, you start to believe in yourself. It’s incredible what a small change we make to our lives can do for us.

The most difficult part is making the first choice and sticking to it.

Right now you don’t believe in yourself. But let me ask you this, do you believe you can cut soda, and make ONLY that change to your life?

Start with that. If not, start with another very small action you can take towards your weight loss goal.

I PROMISE that after you lose even 5 pounds, you’ll see the difference in your body and you’ll get motivated to do more.

So make one decision today and stick with it. Then make another. And then another. Over time, you’ll find this depression is a thing of the past.

But it all starts with this moment and the belief that you can do one small action.

I really hope this was helpful. If you’d like to talk or just need somebody to hear you speak, you can message me privately and I’d love to see if we can create a plan of action together.

Blog: Habit Nest
2.3k Views ·

Sort:  

If someone feels very depressed or hopeless, there is a list of helpful hotlines that people can call to get help (worldwide). Sometimes this won't be solved with a small goal or just get over it event and for anyone reading, I really recommend help from people who've helped in these situations.

For those of us who've lost people close to us due to depression, let's all be careful about giving advice which may not match the person's circumstances. Also, this isn't appropriate for the #IntroduceYourself tag.

Trust me i've had depression and the only way to fight it is to do the opposite to what your brain wants, go and see a psychologist and ignore what your mind says, JUST DO IT! go on walks everyday and build a habit, you get more confident and less depressed so remember JUST DO IT

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60334.00
ETH 2571.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56