Authenticity is my middle name

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

By birth, I don't have a middle name. But if I would ever want to have one...authenticity would be it. 

When I heard this line from Miki Kashtan, my mentor in Nonviolent Communication, my mind was blown away in euphoria. From that day, I decided to make this as motto for rest of my life. These words might look so simple, but it is the most difficult thing to follow in life. 

Hello Steemit

I promise to be authentic in my writing. My name is Kunal. I am a 23 year young boy from the middle class family in India. My childhood had nothing special except the fact that I was not appreciating what I was going to become after completing my university degree. So I did something which I consider as most wisest decision of my life.  I did 'nothing'. 

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Nothing means literally do nothing. I didn't regularly went to college. I didn't study. I didn't complete my assignments, I didn't learn English, I didn't make friends, I didn't had beer, neither I had tea nor I had any girlfriend. But unfortunately, My brain was razor sharp so I got passed in every exam and I became Mechanical Engineer from the reputed college of central India . This was the worst thing that has ever happened in my life.

Now I decided to do something about it. So I decided to travel without money. The only way I knew to survive was to volunteer in any NGO. I went to many places and I learnt some of the best life-enriching skills while travelling. One of the skill was a process of conflicts resolution called Nonviolent Communication (NVC). 

Image and video hosting by TinyPic


Image and video hosting by TinyPic


I was fascinated by the concept that conflicts can be resolved and transforming. This might be common in America and Europe but in India if you have a conflict then the only way to deal with it is to compromise with yourself or keep blaming the other person. NVC taught me that conflicts are the gifts. They are the unmet needs of the people which is badly wrapped in the form of conflict. If we can remove the wrapping and see inside, we will find beautiful human needs which other person is trying to fulfill in his/her fullest potential. I decided to contribute my life to this concept and joined a community called AhimsaGram in Jaipur, India.

 Ahimsa means 'nonviolence' in samskrit and Gram means 'village'. The word AhimsaGram give us the hope of a  nonviolent world.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

My steemit plans- 

My community is doing a paradigm work in the field of relation building and self development. We are a group of 4 dedicated full time members and around 20 volunteers in the AhimsaGram Community. And we fight a lot. And we tries to transform the fight into something which makes our bond more stronger. I will be sharing real life incidences from my community. I will be sharing concepts of NVC and Restorative Justice System. I will also be sharing about our breakthrough work in India. I will also be sharing about the values which we hold in our community. Values like healthy organic food, rooftop kitchen garden, unschooling, and our work around community building. You can expect lots of photos about steam veg food and its recipe. 

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

To be authentic,one more reason to do steemit is we need money to sustain our organisation. One reason to make a blog on steemit is to generate some money to make myself sustainable. 


Marshall Rosenberg, the founder of Nonviolent Communication once said that...

Never work for money. But always ensure that you have enough money to continue your work.

I will be happy to offer any support needed by steemit community in their family life and work life related to conflict transformation.

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit. Very interesting post. Good luck with your new venture. I look forward to hearing more about your culture.

Glad to hear that you find my post interesting. This is very inspiring for me. I will present more about my venture and culture.

Welcome to Steemit! You will do well here! Lets Upvote and Follow each other! I post about envorinment!
Regards,
@leranion

Welcome to steemit kunal😃
Happy to see you here. It would be great to see people knowing about NVC !!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65275.00
ETH 3569.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47