Kaleigh, young visual ARTIST, NEW to the community :) hey Steemers!

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Hello, steemit!!! My name is Kaleigh, but here, you'll recognize me as kooks88. My mother had the idea for my alias. When I was younger she would call me "Cuckoo Kaleigh". I liked the alliteration, and the movie "The One Who Flew Over The Cuckoo's Nest", so I assumed the name.

Photo on 6-14-17 at 5.01 PM.jpg

I'm a budding artist from Minneapolis, MN. On this website, I will be documenting my creative journey and use that as means for further self-discovery. Right now, I love to experiment with a plethora of different mediums. I have taken various art classes outside of schooling growing up. I like to learn hands on by reaching out to teachers, artists, the internet, and museums to "self-educate" which is wonderfully free in comparison to college. I'm currently​ enrolled in a landscape painting class on Saturday. The primary mediums I like to work with are acrylic paint, oil paint, pastel, glue, marker, colored pencil, embroidery floss, cloth, and beads. However, I am always finding new materials I like to work with.

Some of my favorite well-known Artists are; Van Gogh, Monet, Degas, Egon Schiel, Klimt, Matisse, André Derain, and Cézanne.

I love Embroidery and Impressionism for their use of thick, energetic, textures with a natural depiction of light. Conversely, the unnatural, vibrant color schemes of Fauvism are beautiful to me as well. My goal is to create a unique aesthetic that is encompassing of all my favorite styles.

My posts will consist of: Influential Artists (old and new), Original Drawings and Paintings, My Artistic Process, Sketches, and Art Theory.

I'm excited to be a part of steemit​ and cryptocurrency which are both very new to me!!! @Mada is the artist who told me about this gem of a website, so check them out too!

Please Follow me and tag along for my artistic explorations!!!!

Sort:  

First post looks great - super excited to see what you share with us here: )

Thank you so much @mada!! also, thank you for introducing me!! I'm thrilled to be a part​ of it:D

Welcome! I'm curious what you'll post next :-)

Thank you Elaine​!! I love the pieces on your deviant art. I look forward to seeing more art from you!

Welcome to the platfotm @kooks88 I hope you'll like it as much i do :) nice pic :) looking forward for your next post :)

Welcome to steemit and the community! Looking forward to more posts from you within the realm of your journey. Get out there, comment and meet some people. It's really lots of fun and a good way to start. Oh, and get a noticeable avatar for your page. Helps lots, something I've learned. See you around. Enjoyed.

Welcome to Steemit. My first upvote for you.greets from germany

Danke schöne! So nice to connect with someone new from​ afar! Ps. I have mostly German​ heritage

Welcome and congrats on joining! If you like what you see on Steemit and support it, there is a great new article on this community being the Facebook killer! I am also featured in the article on Investorplace.com as being a musician on Steemit (Page 2 @wvm)! If you agree that Steemit is the Facebook killer upvote the post at the link below! Help spread the word of Steemit by spreading this article and the post around! Re-steem and upvote! https://steemit.com/steemit/@wvm/i-am-featured-in-investorplace-com-for-steemit-com-check-it also follow me here @wvm

Welcome, enjoy the party

thanks bottymcbotface, I will always remember you :) bless up

A big warm Steemit welcome goes out to you Kaleigh.

Upvoted and High Pawed! :-D
IMG_1439.JPG

Flatrider

AHAHA! thank you so much flatrider :) high 4

You're welcome! :-D

It was really nice meeting you at Caffetto today and welcome to Steemit!

It was very nice to finally meet you too, Thank you lots, fox!! :)

Welcome fellow Minnesotan!

thank you darko, it's nice to be a part of such a well-established mpls community​!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63506.20
ETH 3065.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04