Hello.....Again!

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

kobie 1.jpg

Hello Steemit! I am not "new" here but have been on a long, unintentional hiatus and want to formally re-introduce myself. I had some technical difficulties with the site and was unable to login for quite some time but have now subsequently made it back to the land of Steem and want to reestablish my introduction. So here it goes:

I consider myself a peripatetic philosopher who writes to find meaning in the world but in all honesty, writing is probably a means to make sense of my own individual world and more importantly my place in it. I find my way of being in the world is enriched by a few basic things: words, nature, art and philosophy.

kobie 2.jpg

Words, in my opinion, are powerful things. Words when spoken or written carelessly can break almost anything. However, they also paradoxically hold the power to heal, inspire and bring peace. We should be respectful when we wield words as they are phonic nuclear weapons of mass destruction that rarely miss their target. We literally speak magic and destroy worlds with our mindful and/or careless use of language.

Philosophy is the ultimate form of praxis and in its traditional incantation was sought as a means to determine what constituted a good life. The word philosophy itself means "love of wisdom". But what I find most alluring and captivating about philosophy is the task it seeks to clarify; how do we live better? So, yes, how do we live better? I believe one of the most basic and necessary ways to live better is to foster connection. We somehow need to disrupt the ever-present myth of separation that seems inherently embedded in our contemporary culture and current organizations structures. I suppose this is a lofty goal (to aspire to disrupt the current power nexus) however, I believe that although our task is fundamentally large, this disruption is achieved best through small, focused and incremental acts made by individuals every day.

In addition to being idealistic and hopeful, I am also an animal lover, avid outdoor hiker, potter and knitter. If you, too, are a nature-loving, quasi-intellectual looking for connection and meaning, follow me and I will do my best to be worthy of your attention and time. Time, after all, is our greatest and most urgent currency. How we use and spend it is essentially what determines if we lived well or not. My use of time these days has been working to embody a minimalist lifestyle, increasing my competence as a potter and striving every day to find beauty in things that are off the beaten path and outside the perimeter of consumer culture. I look forward to learning and sharing with you all.

Kobie

kobie 3.jpg

kobie 4.jpg

Sort:  

Welcome back! I will be sure to follow, as I want to help people improve their physical, mental and spiritual fitness, as well as having fun along the way. I feel like I can learn a lot from your posts.

Hello @cplbiggs. Thank for taking the time to read and respond. Fun and fitness?? Are you sure those two words belong in the same sentence?? Haha.. I kid! It is called "working out" for a reason, no? ;)

Lol well that is true that all good things do not come easy, but fitness is to be enjoyable, not ALWAYS grueling. Its all about the journey and not the destination, and I feel you can relate to that. You will see how it can be fun!

Yes, nothing worthwhile comes without some sort of significant energy exchange to gain it.

Exactly! That exchange, transference of energy needs to be had. My goal is to help people develop that energy in themselves. Using this platform is the perfect way we can achieve our goals. It's an exiting time!

Welcome Kobie and Steemit on! (;

Welcome back! Your arrived here, full of promise and deep thoughts... and then you vanished; so it's good to know you're OK and back among us!

Yes, my computer crashed taking with it like the Titanic my password. I had it written down but when i tried to enter that key it wouldn't work! So, long story short, like Lazarus, my computer came back to life and here we are. It is good to see some thoughtful and familiar faces!! I was a little disappointed to see mindhunter has left the building.

Good to see you back Non-Hairy Potter. ;)

I tried to think of something clever @deanclifford but where do you go from Non-Hairy Potter?

I wondered at first why i had followed you when your posts suddely appeared in my feed. Sins you had been gone from steemit a while. But then while reading this reintroduction, i rememberd why ;)

Welcome back fellow Philosopher. I view Philosophy as an importance to a healthy mind and yes healthy living. As it delvs into understanding of both self and the world in which we live.

Hello @jostein. Yes, I have been more than a while and thank you for the wonderful return greeting. Yes, philosophy does those things. :) Thank goodness it does!

Hi
Welcome to Steem. It's an awesome community. I followed you. Please follow back. Good Luck.

Hello @steemcafe. Thank you for the welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66612.27
ETH 2467.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60