I am KLYE (Part 1: Early Years)

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

Hail users of Steemit

(Please excuse the dated photo, Post got larger than expected)

I come from a great vast land above the 49th parallel north. It's frozen half the year. Some call it Canada. Located roughly smack dab in the middle of it, in the prairies of Manitoba, not much here but farmers fields. In the summer it's very beautiful. As long as you don't mind hot and humid.. In the winter the air can kill you.

I'll admit right now.. KLYE isn't my actual name. My actual name is Kyle. I refer to it as my "slave" name. My parents, father a cop and mother working in the school I attended growing up, chose Kyle. I chose KLYE

I'm a 27 mainly white male, an avid crypto enthusiast, web developer and business owner/entrepreneur. I've been involved in Crypto since 2013 and own http://KLYEMAX.COM which is currently being developed. It's an adult entertainment site allowing users of all gender, sexuality and race to stream anything they want. More info on the KLYEMAX project, The initial IPO blunder and how the project turned me into what I am now will be written in future parts of the "I am KLYE" series planned if this post gets any sort of interest

My life has been mostly through my own terrible decision making, an experience.
(This part is only a glimpse into KLYE's upbringing, more upcoming parts if any interest)

I am KLYE - Part 1: Early Years

I've always been a bit different from other people. From a young age I can recall feeling I was sort of different . My momma always said (lol) I marched to the beat of my own drum, never really understood it till later in life. Always believed myself to be a somewhat sensitive individual that's masked it through general asshattery.

My child years were normal, although I can remember my family being pretty poor when we were younger. Not till after my father had been promoted to chief of police in our town did we own a house or any novelties. I have one sister named Quinn who's a few years younger than myself, We were pretty good siblings back then. Absolute favourite thing in the world when I was a kid was LEGO! A bit of Lego + imagination was happiness.


(If you don't know what this pile of plastic is... I'm sorry about your childhood)

The hours I spent building cars, moon bases, space craft and anything else I could think of cannot be counted. Probably a good thing I loved Lego though, Because socially I was awkward as hell.. and had few if any friends. Eventually I found some other weirdo kids to play Lego with, which was great..! I had real people interaction.

Shortly after we moved into our first actual house, My father had ended up purchasing computer for himself. He's always been a nerd and into science and reading. Maybe that got passed down genetically, who knows? Although I cannot recall the model of it, The PC was an old IBM running MS-DOS, with a 16 color screen. I can still remember watching him load floppy disk after floppy disc into the thing to boot up war games. Eventually I got smart enough by watching him that I was able load up games via floppy / command line. For a 5 year old KLYE to understand what at the time was still pretty new consumer technology was a gift.


(A picture of a similar model of my first computer used)

(The iconic commodore 64 home computer system)

In elementary school, kindergarden class was lucky enough to have TWO commodore 64 PCs.

Being the young computer wizard I was, I'd figured out how to access games on these computers at school. As I grew older dad would pass me down his old computers and let me use them. All before modern internet.

When the internet started becoming a thing, I remember getting a 28k modem in the home computer. Everything was dial-up back then and Netscape Navigator was the best browser out there at the time. We of course only had one phone line, and cell phones like you see them today weren't commonplace. I can still remember vividly the first time I picked up the phone while dad was surfing the web. That noise.

Surfing the internet was exciting, I soon learned of IRC and began to talk to people from all over the world. My parents were pretty smart and kept the internet password protected, which was a minor inconvenience. They tried to limit my time between video games or internet to a mere 30 minutes a day, to focus on school. Luckily, I was a pretty intelligent little bastard and ended up finding key logging software and installed it. This installation was done in stealth of course, hiding the program from my father, waiting for him to web.

Having secured the password to the dial up connection, I would wait till my parent were fast asleep. At the time I had a room in the basement, The family computer was located upstairs, which posed issues. The stairs were creaky and the first few times sneaking up them ninja style proved loud and suspicious. Eventually however I got sneaking to the computer down to an art, and would sacrifice sleep for internet. This all starts around the time I'm beginning to start puberty... So you can only imagine the stuff searched.

I built my first custom PC from scratch at the age of 12 with money I'd gotten from mowing peoples grass. Working sucked, my next job was at a local agricultural equipment assembly plant doing bitch work at 15. Physical labour was something I simply wasn't built for, and even as a teenager I knew this but did it anyway. My body isn't built like most. I'm very long limbed with next to no muscle or fat, Always have been since birth. It's both a gift and a curse to be built like slenderman, Easy to fish things out of tight spaces, bitch to lift things.

The game everyone and their dog had to have at the time was Unreal Tournament. The original version. Sporting the Unreal engine, the game was a masterpiece for its time. Coupled with online multiplayer. Perfect. Instantly once I had saved up enough money to purchase the game I went into the city and grabbed a copy. Countless days and nights were spent fragging people online, It was a perfect way to take out my teenage rage. I'll honestly never forget when I looked into the game files and saw they included a map editor. I was hooked. Having previously dabbled in 3D modelling I set out to start creating new maps, learning the editor took ages. All in all I probably ended up with a folder with 20 maps in it. perhaps 3 playable and 1 that I considered done. Sadly, a hard drive failure erased my years of tinkering with map design in the Unreal engine and I gave up. I had never thought to back up anything at that point, All my downloaded music, programs and work. Gone. Hard lessons were learned that day. The mourning I felt was akin to losing a family member. Lesson learned.

Now, apart from being a computer nerd, at this time I was also trying new at extreme sports seeking thrills. I'd been given a dirt bike from my grandfather, an older Yamaha RT100 trail bike. I jumped it anyway. Sporting a whopping 4" of suspension in the front and 3" in the back may as well been riding a wheeled 2x4. None the less it had an engine and maxed out around 45mp/h. Fast enough for a kid with no prior skills.


(A picture of a Yamaha RT100 similar to the one I had)

When I wasn't out jumping my dirtbike on the old track I'd found had found and rebuilt I was skateboarding My computer use was generally saved for night time, insomnia and no sleep were commonplace by this point. Now, one of my friends that I skateboarded with frequently with had started experimenting with cannabis. Dad being a cop was keen on me not drinking or doing drugs, which up until about that point I hadn't. School wise at the time I was a solid 80's-90's grade student. I hardly studied ever or did any homework. Something made me really curious about illegal drugs and I'd been taught very young to abstain from them. After trying alcohol with my friends in secret a few times and succeeding I decided to finally try Cannabis...


Eventually one lunch hour my stoner friend asked me if I'd like to join them in their daily stoner ritual. Briefly I debated the automatic response, But today felt like the day. Regardless of school, it was time. The anticipation I felt as we travelled as a small group of misfit high school students off to get high. I didn't know what to expect, fear and anxiety were felt through my entire being. Such taboo things afoot. When we arrived to my buddies place he begun to heat up the stove and stuck a butter knife into the element. Me, with no prior knowledge of stoner ways or drugs asked the friend who'd invited me along what was up. He explained to me we were doing hot blades of honey oil and that the honey oil was an extract of THC.

Mentally I had prepared myself for maybe a joint or something. Not some gunk smoked off a heated knife. Reluctantly when it was my turn approached the element and the buffy who had been "serving" the hoots. He explained the process simply: Wait till the oil is heated and drips on the knife and inhale it via a bic pen. I nodded and prepared myself. He scooped up a small amount of this honey looking gunk and bladed it. Inhaling as soon as I saw smoke rising I filled my lungs up with the smoke emanating from the hot knife. Just as fast as I'd inhaled this sweetly dry smoke I begun to cough it back out. Everyone giggled at me. Around half a minute after I'd taken the hoot I stopped coughing and went and sat down on the couch. I waited for this drug to hit me. For this illegal gunk I'd just inhaled to ravage my brain and trip me out. 5 minutes later I sat there wondering what the effect of this drug was supposed to be. So I asked buddy. He replied something along the lines of I'd understand once it kicked in and I should have another hoot. Wanting to see the full effect of this gunk I took another small hoot of it off the blade. This time better. Still feeling nothing I realized the time and alerted the group that we had to leave back to school shortly. The last member of the group finished up having their blast of honey oil and we set out school bound.

I was eager to get back to school. A minor feeling of lightheadedness crept over me as I walked. The group's voices seemed somewhat normal. The school was maybe 6 blocks straight ahead of me. I fixated on getting to school on time, hoping no one would know of the devious thing I had just done. My vision slightly brightened and my head started to feel as if it was like some sort of balloon floating. Looking behind me for my partners in crime I was slightly horrified to see them almost 2 blocks behind. They saw me look back and laughed and waved and I did the same. It was funnier than it should of been. I turned back towards the school deciding it would probably be best to show up before the stoned group. My eyelids felt as if they we starting to close by themselves, the sun was bright as hell in my eyes. Finally reaching the school after what felt like an eternity I avoided eye contact with everyone ran into. My mouth was drier than it had ever been in my entire life. I needed water now and I had 3 minutes till class. Hastily I grabbed a probably 3 week old sprite bottle sitting in the top of my locker and filled it with water. Quickly whilst still trying to be entirely non obvious about my impaired state I hustled to my science class.

When I got there the teacher who was an older woman on the plumper side greeted me as I entered the door. I caught eye contact and instantly her face sort of shot this look for a split second and then asked if I felt OK. Without so much as even a fraction of a second I replied "I was fine" and she told me to grab a test and sit.


Grabbing a test as fast as I could without looking like I snatched it and ran I did so and went and sat in the back. Here I was sitting in class now stoned of my absolute ass for the first time on honey oil writing a science test. Had I studied? Of course not, I never studied because I knew this stuff. So in my virgin stoned state I wrote. Finishing the test in average time sort of surprised me, I was absolutely knackered and my eyes were now red. Handing it in I was instructed by the teacher to sit quietly and work on homework until class was done. phew. I had no idea how I'd actually done the science test. What if I had failed it? What if the teacher knew I was high? Class ended and I got out of there as fast as I could, hoping that somehow being high on pot oil I had passed.

TL;DR - I grew up a weird nerdy kid and the first time I got stoned I wrote a science test

Thanks for reading this! Stay tuned for the science test results coming in
"Part 2: The Teenage Years"

Sort:  

\o/ KLYE Nice to see a familiar place in this crazy world of crypto. Though I feel like I knew a good portion of your past, this certainly helps fill in the voids.

Hail v1! Man.. STEEM is sort of like a reunion for all the folks I've rubbed shoulders with in crypto..!

I'll be posting part 2 here likely in the next few hours. Seems this post caught a wee bit of interest so a Part 2 needs to be done to not leave readers hangin'. :)

Welcome to Steem Klye!

I miss the old JD times when they still used btc, the atmosphere was so different back then! Hope you are doing well :)

Hey acidyo! Glad to see you on here man.

hail bacchist. You're on here too? right on man!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59758.56
ETH 2523.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47