My introduction as I learn how to use this

in #introduceyourself8 years ago

 I had learned about this site a few days ago.  I was a skeptical of it, and I still am.  But I was up early this morning so i figured I would give it a go.  

I at least like the format how stories are posted.  I like being able to see the latest post and seeing what is hot or trending.

Sort:  

Welcome here ;-)

Thank you :-)

Welcome and enjoy! :)

Thank you

Good Luck, it's addictive.lol

Thank you. Yeah you are right, it is addictive. I got up to do a couple of things and couldn't wait to get back. lol

Welcome to Steemit. Stephen

thank you

You are very welcome. Stephen

Welcome @kimkat, what are you skeptical about?

Well as i did my research on it I keep seeing people talk about making money. What I couldn't figure out where does the money come from. But think I have a small understanding if it.

So this site is built on attention, having more "steem power" allows you more control over that attention. So the value of the site is directly proportional to what people will pay for the ability to have a say over what is valued and unvalued here.

As far as I know there are other plans to institute revenue pathways like what Facebook does to give additional value.

Still, owning Steem is like owning a piece of the site. On Facebook the owners are the share holders and executives. Here the owners are every single user. You can exchange your Steem for cash just as you can exchange your ownership (shares) in Facebook for cash.

It is not intuitively obvious where the money comes from so I understand your skepticism.

Welcome to Steemit, Kimkat.

Thank you

Welcome to Steemit! :))

Thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62952.72
ETH 2429.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56