Heya! I’m Ravenheart Cosplay – A cosplayer working to spread my wings.

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Hello! My name is Lotte, a 21 years old cosplay enthusiast from New Zealand.

I wanted to introduce myself a bit to help you guys get to know me a bit better and to kick things off I want to summarize my journey into cosplaying; something I’ve only been doing for around 2 years, but already it feels like a lifetime of experiences.

Capturing heartbeats.jpg

(photo by Capturing Heartbeats)

I accidentally stumbled across cosplaying and conventions in New Zealand during my 1st year of studying Zoology, statistics and environmental sciences at Massey University in 2015, and nothing has ever quite been the same since. That same year I started on my first costume, something overcomplicated for a first time cosplayer, that I was determined to wear to the event next year and my goal was achieved at Wellington Armageddon Expo 2016.

11951705_1626122927628585_4957142587703987806_o.jpg

That event was the start of my cosplay journey as I fell in love with every aspect of cosplaying; from working with my hands to create the cosplay to being able to showcase my work. I went to University to study science but after that one event I knew that I’d entered the wrong world. Cosplay was for me, and I wanted to expand my skill set.

3.JPG

I did finish my degree in Palmerston North earlier this year but my journey is now taking me to the capital of New Zealand: Wellington City, where I will be studying scenic construction and properties at the drama school Toi Whakaari. This school offers several courses including costume making, acting, management, and more, but I was one of 8 students to be accepted into the brand new set and prop making course that commences on 19 February 2018. This course will help me further improve my skills to perhaps one day land me a job at Weta Workshop (the company who did a lot of work on props and costumes for Lord of the Rings), all thanks to my 2nd ever Armageddon Expo where I met the coordinator of this course who took interest in my work.

Capturing heartbeats 3.jpg

(photo by Capturing Heartbeats)

I’m hoping to post the few works I’ve made so far that I think people will enjoy along with writing up some tutorials to help you guys make your own projects. I’ve figuratively and literally been ‘winging it’ for most of my journey, but that has left me with some awesome stuff to share. This community seems like an amazing place and I’m excited to become a part of it!

If you have any questions for me feel free to drop them below! I’d love to get to know you guys. =D

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit, @kimberprime. Nice cosplay!

Thank you! It's Mercy from Overwatch

My kid loves that game. Welcome. You're only the first or second person from NZ I've seen on here. Lots of room for expansion!

Welcome Welcome @kimberprime, nice cosplay action you did there.
I sense a connection to @dutch somehow :)
hope to read more from you
see you around!
Jan

Thanks so much!
Your sense is correct, he is my brother. =D

That's some great cosplay. Welcome to the community. Kiwi <3

Thanks =)

Welcome to steemit! I'm not familiar with your futuristic angel warrior characer, did you invent it? Kate

Heya! It's a character from the game Overwatch called Mercy. I'm hoping to do original designs eventually. <3

Thank you! =D

Wow this so amazing nice post keep up.

Thanks! =D

Hey @kimberprime :)

Welcome to Steemit! You look like transformer in that suite :D

Since I'm also freshman here on Steemit I can only say keep on doing like that and see you around for sure :)

Kind regards!

Heya! =D

Haha thanks! I love Transformers. <3

Definitely hope to see you around. =D

Thank you! =D

Welcome to Steemit, @kimberprime. This is a nice place to share your hobbies. And good luck with your course and the future job at Weta Workshop! To be a part of the company that was involved in LotR must be great.

Thank you! Yes it will be totally awesome to work for them! They've done so much work on awesome movies (they also worked on Thor Ragnarok and more too)! <3

Thank you! Yes it will be totally awesome to work for them! They've done so much work on awesome movies (they also worked on Thor Ragnarok and more too)! <3

welcome to steemit @kimberprime, best regards..
hopefully you feel at home here. 😊

Thanks so much! I'm sure I will!

heloo steemer! am new here. Its nice to see you.
my name is @nosheensarfraz.
please welcome me and follow me https://steemit.com/@nosheensarfraz
and don't forget to upvoke. remember me in prayers :) your prayers can change luck of mine

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61227.58
ETH 3437.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56