To Be at Peace... You Must Create Peace!

Hotep!

Greetings everyone... my name is Michael and I would like to start off by telling you a little bit about myself before I go into a discussion that is very near and dear to me. I’m a native of Atlanta, GA and my background is in Engineering. I'm currently transitioning more and more everyday to becoming a Cryptocurrency Entrepreneur. I'm very big into family, health, yoga, nutrition, music, sports, technology, and a lot of other things that I'm sure I will get to share with you at a later time. I absolutely love what the Steemit community is doing for Cryptocurrency and Social Media so I'm really excited to get my content out through this channel. That being said, this blog will be catered to a lot of the things that I'm interested in but if you would like to see something specific I'm definitely open to some suggestions.

Here is a shot of the family and I... They mean more than the world to me

**If you've made it this far then you either don't know what the word "Hotep" means, skipped past it cause you’re curious where this is going, or you don't really mind that I am conscious and proud of my ancestral history… Either way, let’s talk about it**

Statue of Imhotep in the Louvre Museum

Greetings… I Am KhemHotep and khemcrypto is my steemit channel! 


...But I thought you said your name was Michael… I’m confused.


Recently, the word "Hotep" has begun to get a bit of a bad reputation for what seems to be no verifiable reason other than the fact that some people honestly do not understand what it means or what it represents. I've recently heard the word "Hotep" used to denigrate someone who is pro Black, describe someone who is misogynistic, or portray someone as an individual who thinks they are better than others (Exhibit A). These definitions could not be further from the truth, and here is why... 

Hotep loosely translates to mean “Peace” in english but that description is very incomplete. Hotep is meant to mean more than just a word, it is an offering. What this means is that to properly use the word Hotep, you have to be coming from a place of Peace in order to offer it. If your energy isn’t positive or peaceful when you are using the word then you are using it incorrectly! You are not only degrading the true meaning and value of the word for Afrikan people around the world, but you are also disconnecting yourself from the illustrious history and legacy that Khemet (i.e. Afrika) has to offer.


My first exposure to Hotep came from a private school in Atlanta that I began attending in the 1st grade. The school was named after the Father of Medicine, Imhotep (Some of ya’ll were probably thinking Hippocrates but that’s a discussion for another time). The name Imhotep literally means "the one who comes in peace" and if you are unfamiliar with this great man, he has an impeccable legacy that should be acknowledged and celebrated. 

In addition to being regarded as the father of medicine some 2000 years before Hippocrates was born, Imhotep was also the Architect who designed the step pyramid at Saqqara, a great Mathematician of his time, a poet, a philosopher, a high priest and a chancellor to the pharaoh Djoser. He was literally a common man that was deified after his death in Kemetic Philosophy. It is this legacy that inspired me to name myself KhemHotep

The word Khem means black and was used to describe the land of the Black Skinned people as well as the rich color of the soil in early Nile Valley Civilization. Khemet is the ancient name for the land that is today known as Egypt. I call myself KhemHotep because I recognize who I am and the legacy I must bring to the world. It might not be a popular stance to some because of the way the word “Hotep” has recently been dragged through the mud over the last few years… but I know better so I must do better... 

We all are trying to navigate this world the best way that we can. I truly believe that you must "Know Thyself" in order to effectively do that. The history of Afrikan people has already been degraded enough, to the point that we use some of the best parts of our history to bring our own people down. The saddest thing that I witness from Afrikan people that don’t know their true Afrikan history is that they would rather remain ignorant and “cool” putting it down instead of acknowledging the fact that the great ancient history of Afrikan people is a part of you and what makes you inherently great. Other people around the world fight for their cultural legacy. Until we understand where we come from, we will never truly be at peace.


The peace you seek starts within.


Hotep!

Sort:  

What a beautiful family! :))

Hey-Ooo!
Keep raising the vibrations of those seeking...
Big UUuuuUuups

Welcome to Steemit! Please consider checking out minnowsupportproject.com and @minnowsupport. It is a great community of individuals that will help you get started and can answer all of your questions.

Welcome @khemcrypto aboard the steemit express. This is a great platform to express yourself just like any other social media outlet except this one pays its users for interacting with each other. Post good content and your rewards can be limitless but always stay true to yourself.

@slickhustler007
#minnowtowhale
#minnowsupport

Welcome to Steemit @khemcrypto, I have upvoted and sent you a tip. Check my blogs if you are looking for tips on how to earn more Steem and SBD.

Welcome @Khemcrypto to Steemit! . I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community :) Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me at @khunpoom

Welcome to Steem @khemcrypto I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Hi, I am Dr. Maizo, orthopedic surgeon, i like your post, and you can follow me for more interesting information on medicine, orthopedics and traumatology. @drmaizo

Welcome and good luck A wonderful post. I would be happy if We'll grow together and follow each other

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69662.55
ETH 3388.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77