I Am Here to Party and Take Pictures: An Introductory Post

I can wiggle my left ear, but not my right ear.

I think that if I were to make weird faces in front of a mirror long enough that I could eventually gain control of my right ear. It would be the dumbest physical therapy of all time. And that is the first fun fact about me.

DSC07287-4.jpg

My name is Kevin, and I live with my wife and cat in Radford, Virginia.

I was introduced to Steemit by my friend @aweber. Along with @yumyumseth, we were once part of a photography community on tookapic, which is a site dedicated to 365 projects. That community really made me work on my photography: to explore different subjects, to try different styles, and to engage with other photographers. I look forward to finding that again here.

My biggest claim to internet fame are my photos of a large feral cat colony.

The colony has consisted of as many as thirty cats. I am like Jane Goodall, but with cats instead of primates, and I post cat photos on the internet instead of contributing to science in any way.

DSC00457.jpg

One of my favorite camera lenses was made in 1974.

It is a Minolta MC Rokkor 58mm f/1.2. I also have a Helios 44-2 58mm f/2 from Soviet Russia. My fellow lens hipsters can look forward to more from me on this topic.

DSC_0044-2.jpg

I write a lot of JavaScript for a living.

As I have said many times before, I would inject JavaScript straight into my veins if it were possible. I mainly do frontend development, and I am a huge fan of Vue.js.

There are two large pinball machines in my house.

I have spent countless hours repairing, restoring, and modding them. One is a Twilight Zone, and the other is a Bram Stoker's Dracula, both of which were manufactured in 1993. Pinball combines the appeal of video games, the thrill of slot machines, and the deceptively simple physics of carnival games. It is better than sports.

DSC07070.jpg

Now that you know enough to steal my identity, I will conclude this post with a few of my photos that are not of cats.

8b6a3ca77a8f1e1d352fea683bbc6e41.jpg

a53890fde3931f4265ddcaa1a5c0c5f3.jpg

DSC05530.jpg
I lied.

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit @kevinleedrum. You once again proved that "Actions are louder than words" Thnx for these beautiful & brilliant pieces of Masterpieces.

You are too kind. Thanks a lot!

Morning shows the day.If this kind article is your introductory post then later would be very surprising.Amazing startup ..keep it up and warm welcome to steemit.

Thanks so much! I hope I don't disappoint. :)

Welcome to steemit!
I am a bot built for the purposes of welcoming new users! I know that steemit may seem very overwhelming to you right now but don't worry. There's a learning curve to everything so just be patient and you'll be churning out posts and becoming a part of something great in no time!

Also if there are any questions that you may have, then just ask your questions on any of my blog posts or in a reply below and I'll be more than happy to assist you with whatever questions you may have! I will also be creating a basic starting out guide for all minnows and newcomers on my blog so do give it a read as that might help answer many of your questions!

Have fun and I wish you LOADS of success on here! :)

Also. you can call upon originalworks whenever something you post is your own content like this: @originalworks

Regards
@welcome-to-steem

from my experience @originalworks never works :(

Welcome man! Fancy seeing you on another corner of the internet! Looking forward to your posts :)

Thanks man! I'm still finding my way around, but I'm glad to be here.

Dude yes! So glad you joined. Also, two pinball machines in your house? Can I come play? If it helps, I used to play pinball all the time on my Dad's office computer back when Windows had the best games.

Yes, you are always welcome if you're ever in southwest Virginia. And YES, Space Cadet pinball was a great game. It could have used some better artwork, but it actually had a pretty good ruleset that rivals a lot of real pinball games.

Welcome to Steemit and good luck on your journey. Follow me and I'll follow you back :) @phil917

Welcome aboard!...And who doesn't love cats. ;)

I don't want to know anyone who doesn't love cats. Thanks!

Welcome to steemit! 😀

Awesome introduction!

Looking forward to seeing more of your amazing pictures!

Thanks a lot! I definitely take that as a compliment after looking at a few of your shots!

welcome, nice intro. happy to see more photographers joining the platform.looking forward to see your work

Thanks, and nice avatar! :)

Hey Kevin! First of all, welcome to Steemit! Second thing, GREAT PHOTOS! Third thing, thanks for dropping by earlier and commenting on my stuff.

I am so glad that the photographer community is growing on Steemit and also we are getting such good people.

I am waiting on those cat photos man, but don't forget about more astro :D

Careful what you wish for. I have more cat photos than any sane person should have. Thanks for the welcome!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56500.57
ETH 2341.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33