You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hi Steemit! Scott Santens here. If you've ever googled "basic income", you may have read something I've written.

Really good discussion about Basic Income. I think it is an idea worth experimenting with. I've been receiving BI from Grantcoin/Manna since it started last summer. I'm involved with what the VIVAconomy is doing in this area as well.

I think that the idea of BI on Steemit is interesting. There are already bots that up vote every single post made every day. It ran for a while but I don't think it is on the job right now. Would you propose a person gets their Steem BI just for being a member, or would it be based on their level of activity here?

How do you feel about BI as a government program funded by tax payers as opposed to programs like Grantcoin that distribute their payments from their Charity that people voluntarily contribe to? How BI would be funded is a big topic on some of the other Basic Income posts here, like the recent one by @heretickitten.

Up voted, resteemed, tweeted. Thanks for this post!

Sort:  

I'm okay with bots getting a dividend in order to make sure real people do as well, but I'd like to see some machine learning applied here to better filter out bot accounts. I think the dividend should require an extremely basic amount of activity, like perhaps one upvote per month or something extremely limited to receive that month's dividend.

How I would fund basic income is available here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64418.55
ETH 3157.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06