You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I'm Mike DiBaggio, Author and Creator of (Open Source) Worlds of Heroic Adventure

Awesome! Followed!

I like your idea of remixing, and have a similar idea myself with my unfinished novel Merwin In The Multiverse. I was thinking ,after I put more of it on the net, of having other authors write versions of stories that take place in the parallel worlds of the characters.

So if you don't mind I'm gonna check out your work and see if I can work some of your characters into my book. I love the idea of parallel worlds meeting, and I feel like that is what's happening after reading your post ;)

Sort:  

Thanks, @kendewitt. It's always nice to be able to encourage others to open their creative works to common development. The way I see it, people who like your stuff are going to do it anyway, so there's little point in alienating them by trying to shut them down (a la Paramount, Disney, etc...). And the best way to get people to enjoy your art is to make them aware of it. I'd be thrilled to see some Ascension Epoch characters appearing in your work.

I haven't been writing publicly long enough to have anyone really even see my work, let alone want to riff off of it. But I'm totally open to that. I think Steemit can be a place for an open exchange of ideas between writers in a way that hasn't really been done before. Or maybe it has but I have just never run into it.

Are you from Pittsburgh? Just reading the synopsis of The Dismal Tide. I was born there and grew up on the west coast, but lived there a couple years in high school. I mean nobody who isn't from there calls it The Burgh AFAIK.

I live in the eastern part of Pennsylvania, about 4.5 hours away from Pittsburgh. If you have heard of Yuengling beer, you know where I'm from.

But I lived in Pittsburgh for four years in the early 2000s when I went got my undergrad degree at Pitt. I lived in Oakland and Shadyside and spent a ton of time exploring the area. I think it's a really neat place, at least geographically and culturally, with a surprisingly deep history for a city in Pennsylvania. Plus, write what you know, and all that...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66397.79
ETH 3460.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61