East Coast Born. Midwest Raised. Southern Educated. Steemit Newbie.

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

Greetings Steemit! I am a social media manager, writer and photographer in New York City, and I look forward to learning more about the platform and the wonderful community in it.

First, a little bit about me…

I was born in New York State and raised in Minneapolis, MN. After growing up in the Midwest, I hightailed it to the South for college. I was tired of the cold winters, so I went somewhere where I could walk to class in flip-flops year round. Seemed like a no-brainer.

I found myself at art school in Savannah, GA. I studied many facets of art, and ultimately decided I wanted to be a photographer. In the land of palm trees, extreme humidity and drunk tourists, I discovered my creative spirit.

After I graduated, I decided I wanted to become a famous photographer like Annie Leibovitz and live somewhere more metropolitan. I packed up my car and left for New York City.

I landed in a neighborhood in Brooklyn that was, shall we say, rough around the edges. “Fireworks or Gunshots” was a common guessing game played in my apartment. Scary crime aside, I met @prufarchy in the area. We had our local bar, where we downed $2 beers during happy hour and took back cheap shots that tasted like low-grade gasoline. It was home.

Me & @prufarchy at Don Pedro’s

After coming to New York, I was sidetracked by a career in advertising as a social media manager. I am also a writer, and I have been published in a few online outlets, including AgencySpy, Broadcasting & Cable, Designer Pages, and others. Spredfast featured me as a ‘Renaissance Woman’ during CMAD (Community Manager Appreciation Day).

While writing is a passion realized, and working in social media is a millennial dream come true, photography is my forever love. I hope I can show more of my photography side on Steemit, and return to my visual roots.

Thanks to @prufarchy, I am getting started on this fascinating, surprisingly complex, platform. His Steemit intro really helped me learn more about how it all works. I still have a ways to go, but reading articles about the differences between Steem, Steem Dollars and Steem Power by @andrarchy helped me understand the Steemit currency, and the Steemit How-To’s list by @ash is the best unofficial FAQ on Steemit. @mindover has a fantastic Steemit for Dummies guide that is easy to understand, and fun to read.

I look forward to learning more about the platform and immersing myself in this exciting, creative, growing community. I am also excited to connect with fellow artists and creators. Feel free to ask me anything!

Some examples of my photography below:

Sort:  

I'm very very very happy to see this! Welcome to the fam, fam :) @jamtaylor I think you're going to love her work

Weeee! Happy to be here! I am excited to get started :)

Welcome to Steemit!
I like the photographs.
Also, I think we need social media managers here. We have some issues to fix.
Upvoted and followed.
Upvoted and followed

Happy to share my social media expertise! What do you think are the top issues that need fixing?

I did not expect a reply!
Hmm, well, we need people who understands marketing strategies, how to attract users and retain them.
But we also have a credibility problem because of unequal distrubution of wealth, and the fact that a lot of Steem was pre-mined.
But Steemit has massive potential still.
We just need to find ways to distribute wealth better, and improve the user experience.
We need to adjust the platform to non techie users.
We should be able to buy steem directly from Steemit.inc for example.
I belive that if you understand marketing and social media, and learn more about Steemit, then you could help improve it, and get many votes and followers.
I know, you would rather do photography!
But still..

Nice to meet you. I am new to Steem it as well! Looking forward to what you have to say about Social Media, as a copywriter myself I find the subject very interesteing and helpful.

Welcome fellow newbie! Oh yes, I'd love to pick your brain about copywriting as well! Looking forward to chatting more with you.

Welcome, looking forward to seeing more of your photography work. Going to be following you!

Amazing! I am amped to join the Steemit photo challenges. Keeping an eye out for the next theme!

Wow you're pretty up to speed on the goings-on around here :) Look out for it on Thursday!

I shall! Thank you for the heads up

I may have told her about your challenge once... or a thousand times during the process of... reminding her about Steemit :)

lol very good! At least she's here now. Best of luck to her!

What are you STARVING for?

welcome. am in Brooklyn. poet and writer and geek rolled into human.

Very good post!

Wisdom, compassion, and courage are the three universally recognized moral qualities of men.

Good Introduction

Thank you very much!

Welcome aboard. We're looking forward to your posts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64189.84
ETH 2796.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65