You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Go ahead, be virtuous and don't click on a post that has "sex" in the title

Hey this is really interesting! I have definitely thought in depth about the pitfalls of default monogamy and I wonder if your ideas are the same as mine. I haven't been able to talk to ANYONE about them except for my kind-of boyfriend. I am in an in-between position right now. Just a simple question here for you to see: is it because people tend to settle down immediately and stop improving? Thanks for taking the time to write!

Sort:  

Well, I hope to do something more detailed in the near future, but here's my thoughts on it, off the cuff. My opinion on default monogamy isn't a criticism of the results (being with just one person), it's a criticism of the process (not making a conscious decision to be with just one person). Anytime people make a major personal decision -- and how you choose to lead your life with your significant other(s) definitely qualifies! -- they should decide not because of societal norms but because of who they are, whom they are with, and what they hope to make of their life.

Now, do I think that personal stagnation results directly from default monogamy? No. But I guarantee you that those who choose monogamy -- or any other relationship style -- are better communicators and more in tune with the needs of their partner(s).

Hope that helps. Sometimes I ramble...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57475.27
ETH 2375.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34