Hi Stranger!

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

My name is Katarina Milivojević - typical Slavic name, right?

I was born on 13th September, at 13:45, with number 13 in a hospital. Sounds scary?

I'm a freelancer and traveller from Belgrade, the city where you come for clubbing, eating, and making good friends. No, we are not killing people. Usually.

Here is how I look by the way - this is my latest selfie that I consider successful!!
23730764_10208180717235174_1141573993_o - Copy.jpg

This picture is from Koh Phangan, a Thai island where I'm enjoying myself these days, spending time, and working. Sounds like a perfect life? It probably is.
IMG_20171118_130857.jpg

Anyways, this is not a usual fluffy introduction. I really want to get personal. So, sit comfortably, roll a joint (just kidding!), and get ready. Thanks.

CHILDHOOD, STUDYING, AND DREAMS

I was born in an average family in the crisis of the early 90s in Serbia, and my parents divorced just a few years after that. Everything was pretty chaotic, we also had a war in 1999, life was not convenient, although I had very joyful and creative childhood. Mine was to study hard to prepare for the life. My granny had enough free time and a real desire to teach me everything she could, and I am very thankful for her commitment to make me a future well-educated and independent, well-mannered woman. When I was already 3, I could recite around 50 songs. Moreover, when I was 7, I started writing my first novel (which I never finished). I've said enough.

So, this is that future well-educated and independent, well-mannered woman.
malo kacko.jpg

I don't want to say that I was only studying, although sometimes I feel like that. I've also been playing the piano since I was 8, and around my early teenage years it got pretty hardcore and I was dreaming about becoming a pianist, or at least a piano teacher, ready to fully commit my life to music. (Un)thankfully to my family and my piano teacher, who believed that I should do something more profitable, I stopped going to the music school at age 17, and focused more on exploring my other passions for 'real' things. And I was passionate about everything - languages, literature, informatics, medicine, chemistry, business, etc, etc. I could never decide what is best to do for me. Now it is not much different.

So, the first 23-24 years of my life I mostly spent studying, being a real geek and overachiever, all of that until I finally achieved a degree in Business Psychology with best grades and a serious burnout. It was not about psychology at all! - it's about belonging to the system and aiming to gain rewards from that system, while being totally ignorant of other ways of exploring, learning, and expressing what you know, or don't know. Anyways, after that I decided to play hard, and to do only what I really want to do - not what is 'best', or 'normal', or 'usual'.

PLAYING HARD, FEELING FREE. AND FEELING RESPONSIBLE

A month before I turned 24 I started changing everything. I spent the whole month in Germany, using a scholarship I got for improving my German language. First time away from home for so long, I got totally new ideas about my life, and felt encouraged to make them a reality. Since then I destroyed all the basic constructs I had in my mind, and started building totally new, more real ones.

I changed many of my friends, and started building a larger circle of people around me. I ended my last one in the series of 1.5 years long relationships, and decided to stop chasing long-term relationships, and to start exploring more real and honest ones. First time I enjoyed being single. I stopped believing in formal education, in those 'good and secure' company jobs, and decided to never work for any company since it's just not for me. I started freelancing online, doing many different projects mostly in writing and quantitative research. I started living by myself, and totally depending only and exclusively on myself. I learned how to drive a car, how to swim, and probably something else. And I started travelling by myself, which is in Serbia as rare as hen's teeth!

This is one of the pictures from my first solo trip to Israel.
IMG_1207.JPG
(Dead Sea is NOT the only sea where I can swim! :D)

What I have done so far regarding my career is well-documented on my LinkedIn profile. Do have a look. https://www.linkedin.com/in/katmiliv/

'YEA, I GOT IT ALL. SO WHAT THE HELL ARE YOU DOING HERE, KATARINA?!'

Well, writing for me feels like being a kid in a big room full of toys and candies! Also, after my friends showed me Steemit, I realized this is a great place to share content I am about to write.

Besides becoming famous (just kidding), my purpose here is to write about things and ideas I feel are worth sharing, and for which I believe can help someone get some new insights, and change their perspective. I will write about psychological topics, about freelancing, and travelling, all from my own unique point of view, not as a psychologist, but as just an explorer of this weird and amazing world. I want to share real experiences and emotions, and hopefully encourage others to share theirs as well, as I believe being open and expressing yourself is an important part of living a meaningful and fulfilling life.

Sort:  

Hello Katarina

Welcome to Steem Community @katarinamiliv! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Hello Katarina , welcome to Steemit. :)

hi there, welcome to steemit Katarina!

hi, thank you!

Welcome to Steem @katarinamiliv I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Hello, thank you!

Hello my friend and welcome to Steemit!! @nikolina resteemed so I found you!! Any friend of Nina is a friend of mine!!

Hello, thank you! I'm following you! :)

Hello dear @katarinamiliv and welcome to Steemit! :)
I really enjoyed reading your intro post. You really seem to be a very lovely and interesting person!! I follow you :)
I can totally realte to your view on normal jobs by the way! That's why I became a freelance writer,too! :D

Best wishes and a lot of success! :)

Hey Linda!
Thank you, I am also reading your intro post now, seems like we have lots in common!! :) I m really happy you wrote a comment, and I m excited to read your future posts.

I wish you lots of inspiration and success as well! :)

Thank you for your lovely words and reading my intro post :) I think so, too! We do have a lot in common :)
Your reply makes me very happy, thank you dear @katarinamiliv <3

I am excited about your future posts, too!! :)

Lots of good vibes!

Heeey giiirl!
Welcome to this awesome community! I'm glad you're here and I'm looking forward to read more interesting posts from you! I really enjoyed this one! :)

Thaaaanks for this and for advices, I feel encouraged, and also like your posts! :)

Congratulations @katarinamiliv! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @katarinamiliv! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 57872.51
ETH 3061.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.25