Authoring Katara Sedai

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Hello, this is my   #introduceyourself post. It is a pleasure to be a part of this new community.


"Fiction is like a spider's web, attached ever so lightly perhaps, but still attached to life at all four corners."       - Virginia Woolf 


The difference between an author and a writer, is that an author is responsible for creating original conceptual content. Meanwhile, a writer is a technician whose interpretation of an authors content is expressed through writing. A person can be both the author and writer of a text. However, you can author things other than literary works. 

I am a performance artist, and the author of Katara Sedai.
Katara Sedai is an avatar: like a character I play in the role-playing game of Life.

I am a 28-year old curator and performance artist, born in the heart of Cape Town, South Africa. I love to explore the boundaries between reality and fiction, and to understand the role that storytelling and performance practices play in making that adventure possible and fun. I love to play. So, because I am an adult, people call it art now.



Image by Hanjones, edited by Katara Sedai.

I believe in the magic of story. I also believe in (unconditional) love. And kindness, generosity and (true) compassion.
I believe in the power of storytelling to change the shape of the worlds.

If you are interested in posts documenting one woman's journey towards unconditional love, it may be a good idea to follow me. Essentially, I'll be exploring the nature of reality and how we can effect change within it, most specifically through art-making and storytelling. Part story, and part story about story.... While I go through the process of embodying Katara Sedai in the worlds and blog about it here, I will also periodically post about the theory related to my practice: providing you with reasons for why I do what I do, in the way that I do it. 

PS: You can also follow my story on Instagram & Soundcloud: @katara_sedai.



Image by Hanjones, edited by Katara Sedai. Quote by Thomas D from 'Liebesbrief'. 


...And I carry my heart open, so that everyone can see it:
And I can only hope you read this song like an open letter
that all the others understand we see ourselves in the others' eyes....
                                                  - Thomas D (trans. Katara Sedai)


Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @katara.sedai! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Hello @katara.sedai. Welcome to Steemit. I am David. I wish you have a happy journey here.

Hello : ) Thanks for the warm wishes : )

Welcome to Steem @katara.sedai I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Hello @katara.sedai! Welcome to steemit! :)

Hello : ) It's a pleasure to meet you all. Thank you for being so welcoming : )

G'day @katara.sedai! Welcome to the platform :]

Awesome <3

Hey there @katara.sedai! Welcome to the platform :]

Thank you : )

Hello and welcome.

Welcome to Steemit! :)

Hi : ) Thanks! I look forward to my adventures here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59702.71
ETH 2542.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54