A Place For My Voice (get some coffee, you'll be here a minute)

So, here we are again!

In my last post, I mentioned something about starting from the beginning.

One score and five, or so, years ago. I decided to persue a constant dream I have had since I was a child, and that was to become a Disk Jockey. Growing up in 1960's Southern California, I was never too far from a radio. Our local Top 40 stations, KMEN and KFXM were my shelter from the storm that was my life, back then. And on a clear day, if you stood in the right spot, in the right body position, you could hear the Boss Jocks out of Los Angeles. 93 KHJ was the place to be before it went to all talk, back in the '80's.

By then, FM radio was in full force with Powerhouse stations like KMET and KROQ, but I'm straying from my point: In 1991, I decided to attend American Broadcasting School, in Tulsa Oklahoma. I had the best time when I was learning there. So many creative, talented people producing some really great radio that no one will ever hear.

I found that I had an attraction, more so, to the commercial production aspect than to be on-the-air. Because of my previous acting experience, I think I enjoyed writing commercials simply because I liked doing the voice acting and post-production. I did a couple of small time gigs as a writer/producer/voice actor, before letting it all simply slip away for personal reasons.

Cut ahead to 2015: I'm working as a Waiter for a local chain restaurant. The restaurant owner decides that it is time to do a little advertising on TV. Before I knew it, the commercial was in the can and who did the voiceover for the spot? My manager. MY BLOODY MANAGER !

I asked myself at that moment;

"Why wasn't it me? I'm experienced. I'm talented!"

Well, my answer to myself was;

"Nobody Knows You!"

So, I have spent the last two years, studying the industry (things have changed quite a bit in the last couple of decades), Gathering equipment, and learning a little about Internet Marketing. My biggest sticking point (besides my fearful procrastination) has been having a decent place to record. I've seen so many Home-Based Studios all over the Web, and right-off-the-bat I notice what they have that I don't; A home environment conducive to recording. A far-off room, or better still, a basement. I didn't have access to anything like that. And to top that off, my wife and I were raising our Grandson and also heavily involved in animal rescue, so our house was very noisy. All of the time.

A couple of things have happened within the last several months. Our Grandson moved in with his Mother and Stepfather, and, we placed the last of the pets that we had to place. The noise level noticeably dropped and we have a free room open!

YAYYYY!!!

Had Enough? I know this was a little long, but now, I'd like to show you what is going to happen to this space. Here's a few shots of the space as it stands:

nuroom01
This is the room with a bunch of my stuff for decorum.

nuroom02
In this corner is where I will put my workstation.

nuroom03
The Old Setup in the closet.

nuroom04
My Equipment

nuroom05
In this area is where I will eventually have a booth

So there you have it. It's going to be great! I'm happy to share this. If you made it this far, thanks for looking. I'll try not to be so long winded next time.

Cheers!

Sort:  

Same to you and more of it! ;)

I didn't have a coffee.....beer insted(: That's a journey and it's great that you take setback in stride and adapt yourself, not many people can do that. Look forward to more posts and best of luck!

Congratulations @karmasonicvox! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @karmasonicvox! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63605.39
ETH 3470.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52