I'm Karlson Schlyer, a cancer survivor, and I do a little bit of everything.

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Whatsup Steemit Community!

Who Am I?

I'm Karlson Schlyer, a 21 year old who's currently a broke college student majoring in Biology. I think what most defines me as a person is that I'm a cancer survivor who refuses to not take advantage of the opportunities we are given every day. When I was 5 years old I was diagnosed with Hodgkin's Lymphoma, a cancer of the immune system. I fought hard and came out relatively unscathed and vowed to never take life for granted. Every day I've tried to push myself out of my comfort zone to learn new things. This is what has led me to steemit.

First Portrait Edit.jpg

My face.

What Led Me Here?

I randomly stumbled upon steemit a couple days ago when I was trying to teach myself more about cryptocurrencies. I've been investing in the stock market for about 6 months now ( check out Nvidia ;) ) and wanted to see what all the cryptocurrency hype was about! What I found was the amazing technologies behind these currencies, blockchain among others, and the potential they have to change how we interact with many things during our daily lives. I now understand the hype behind this industry! I think steemit is an ingenious idea that merges an amazing social platform with an amazing underlying technology and couldn't miss out on it, so here I am.

NVDA stock surge.png

I personally made about 70% on the trade; but I didn't have much capital to work with - broke college student.

Hobbies & Interests

Like I hinted at earlier, I'm always finding new hobbies and interests, my newest being cryptocurrencies and really anything related to blockchain technology. This has led me to doing countless hours of research on the subject over the past week. I'm still new but I'm learning a lot. Other hobbies of mine include investing in the stock market, building custom gaming computers, teaching myself to program in Python, playing too much basketball, entrepreneurship, and many more. As you can see I'm kind of all over the place when it comes to my interests; I hope to expand on them more individually in the future, going over how I got into said topics and what I've learned so far.

Computer build.png

A computer build a friend and I worked on.

Personal Life

As far as my personal life and family goes, it's been a crazy past couple of years. I have an older sister and brother, and one younger brother. My mother passed away recently after a long battle with cancer; yeah that one hurt. Luckily my siblings and I are about as close as siblings can get so we've helped each through it and refuse to let it keep us from achieving our goals. I'm currently a senior in college and graduate at the end of this year; real life here I come. I try not to throw too much about my personal life out into the public sphere, so I'll leave it at that. Oh wait, I have a dog and her name is Luna; she's insane but hard not to love.

20141231_144413.jpg

Luna!

What's Next?

That's the good part, I don't know! I'm excited to see this platform grow and be along for the ride. Like I said I plan on writing future posts about my hobbies more in-depth. I will probably think of other stuff to talk about along the way as well. If you have any questions for me leave them down in the comments below and I'll do my best to answer them ASAP. If I feel like the answer will be a bit more involved I'll probably just end up writing a whole post about it and I'll make sure to credit you with the question. If you made it this far, thanks for reading and I look forward to interacting with you.

Stay curious,
Karlson Schlyer

Sort:  

Hi Karlson

That's quite a good, rather detailed intro to Steemit. With your focus on pertinent facts and your decent writing skills, you will surely be able to bring something of value to this platform.

Also, you seem to have a pretty good knowledge of blockchain / DLT and cryptos (more than me, for sure!), so that will also work to your advantage.

Below are a few points of advice re posting on Steemit.

  1. Longer posts are more lucrative than short posts. If you make a post of 20–30 paragraphs, it's more likely to earn rewards.
  2. Include some photos, images or graphs, to complement the text.
  3. Make sure the text and photos are formatted properly, so that your post looks attractive and appealing.

Hope this helps for now. Good luck, and Full Steem Ahead!

Welcome to Steemit!

Hey @karlsonschlyer, Welcome to Steemit! It's amazing and fortunate that you're a cancer survivor! I respect that. I'm sure you already know this, but there's a strong community here that is interested in investments and blockchain technology. You'll fit right in!

By the way, the word "broke" and "college" means the same thing.

Haha yeah I guess it was a bit redundant wasn't it?

Just a bit lol

Congratulations @karlsonschlyer! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Comment
You made your First Vote
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hello, you are welcome to steemit!!! I give you upvote to your post and remember to follow me as a friend to help you grow in this social network!

Whats up?!

Ay whaddup dude!

Welcome to the community mate, we have pretty similar hobbies/interests. Thanks for sharing your story! :)

That's awesome, thanks for the welcome man! Noticed you used the word mate, where you from by chance?

Im from Western Australia! Great place to live and yer everyone calls each other mate! haha

Yeah I figured Australia or New Zealand. I lived in Adelaide for about 4 months in high school, was awesome!

Welcome to Steemit Karlson! It is great to have you here. Looking forward to more of your posts.

Heyy... Welcome to the Steemit Community !!

Hope you have a great time here, with loads of earnings...

Cheers :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 59198.54
ETH 3287.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43