This is Me and How I got HeresteemCreated with Sketch.

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

IMG_20170228_224351.jpg

My name is Justin Harvey John Ashby, I was born in Iowa City, IA at 0608 on August 12th 1981. I was nearly a month premature. I spent many days in an incubator. My mother was a heavily complicated Diabetic so I am a true miracle.

My mother was a drug addict and she couldnt stay in one place for too long. I moved a whole bunch early in life not really able to set down any real roots.

My great grandmother Ruth and her daughter Geraldine helped raise me after my mother had no choice to surrender custody. They live in Sant Monica, CA.

I think I was around 8 or 9 years old when I was sent back to my mother in Washington.

I went to school. I made a few friends. However I never really fit "in". Kids bullied me because I was small for my age. This lasted a few years.

Meanwhile my mother got into harder drugs and even harder people. Big, badass, biker dudes. My mother referred to them as my "Uncles" and they were extremely abusive. After more times than I can count, I tried, at my own peril to protect my mother. Usually they redirected and came after me so she could find safety. Eventually I couldn't stand it anymore so I left home.

I was 12 when I first became a street kid. Not the pretend kond either. I lived outside with the elements. Just me and my willingness to survive. I learned how to do what is needed to make it. Sometimes the chill of the night would stay with me until well into the next day.

When I was 15 I found my mother dead in the bathroom from an overdose. My uncle Dan, my aunt Johnna, and my aunt Beth came to take care of her stuff and take me away to California.

I was so scared and alone I turned back to the streets. A place I had known for quite a while. I dont know why I ran from a loving home. I was emotionally disturbed and unruly. My grandmother couldn't handle me anymore and sent me to Iowa to live with Dan.

I ran away and the State of Iowa took custody of me. I left there too. I went back to Venice, CA and got a job working for Mr. Singh, he owned all the pizza shops. I held a sign for him from open to close everyday. Slept in the door ways of the boardwalk. Eventually I made it back to Washington.

I met this girl and we had a kid. My son was born September, 7th 2014.

That is where I am still to this day.

(some of this content isn't suitable for some readers so I left it out)

I am no Hemmingway but here I am still fighting the good fight. I am proof you should never give up. Nike said it best, "Just Do It." 

Thank you, dear reader, an ear to my voice, for your precious time.

@justinashby

Sort:  

I cannot stop the tears from streaming down my face. I waited so many years to hear that I was actually welcome, so many years... so many cold lonely nights... I searched the better part of my life for home.

I have only been here three weeks and I can see the power we all have. I am grateful for everyone here. You are wanted, needed, and loved even if I am the only one who will.

Like my comments say below..... one of the best posts of the week we will read on here and it is undervalued.

You have been a great Steemer so far, I am personally glad you are here and I will stick with what I said in my other comments here.

You are loved man. You are worth something. You always have been. I am glad you are here.

I am grateful for your kindness. Neg rep haters, I will press on. Full Steem Ahead Chugga-Chugga...Woohoo!

Welcome to Steemit.

Welcome, and thanks for sharing your personal story. I've sent you a steem dollar so you can keep steeming!

Welcome to steemit @justinshby, that is harsh story, the fact that you are here telling it means you are strong person and overcome all that, i like your attitude.
Thnx foe shearing,

You will feel a lot of that today, just for other steemian to come 😊

You made my day better, thank you.

Welcome to Steemit :)

I feel welcome, so many comments and stuff. So cool of you to say so!

A warm welcome to the the Steemit community

Thank you, I have a bunch of stories to tell . Stay tuned.

Great I look forward to seeing your posts. Followed

Welcome Justin.

I am glad to be here.

Tough to put personal stuff like that out in front of the community. Good job man, keep fighting! And welcome :)

Yeah but I figured if I show my guts, it might feel better. I totally did. Bob and weave...

Welcome to steemit @justinashby =) Thank you to be here. Best wishes !

Everyone is so nice. I hope your wishes are granted too, friend. :)

Thank you my friend, at least one of them have already been granted. I Found this place named steemit, where there is a lot of people with a big heart ! 😇

So glad you found your way to Steemit.
You've gone through amazingly rough experiences! I hope things are looking up for you, your daughter and her mom. I can only imagine the things you're able to instil in others with what you've dealt with and had to overcome.

Welcome aboard!

So kind, may love and light be with you always. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63402.76
ETH 2554.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66