What about me?

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

Julie Seams To Be talking about herself.

I made fried pickles tonight for the first time and everyone loved them! Also finished up another shirt for my daughter's wardrobe. I'm pretty sure my love for sewing and making a living doing it is obvious with my links. Growing food and cooking are my next favorite things.

Cooking was actually my first love, had the whole Time Life collection of cook books by the time I was 18. Working for that company selling their books at 16 helped with that first hording addiction of how-to books. It came in handy when I couldn't afford a wedding gift for my oldest son. Just felt bad that the "meat" book was missing.

I've been around for 55 years now and have been a little amazed looking back on my life. All the different things I wanted to do, studied for, tried and moved on. Amazed that I even considered accounting, investment banking...seriously? I got as far as working for Salomon Brothers in Boston as a clerk at 20 years old. I had my first son and left the job to work on an organic farm his father ran. And part-time as a store clerk. You see the pattern? Try, learn, go back to what you enjoy most.

I don't think any of the time I utilized making a living was a waste. It was almost like a build up to what I should be doing, giving me the skills to cover all the aspects of what I want to do. Be as self sufficient as possible running a business of my own. Every single job, even working in a saw mill in Manteca, CA at 17. I learned how to work hard for next to nothing at times. How to keep books, talking about the financial thing, not hording them. How to deal with the public. How to be a salesperson when you have to. And all along the way I learned to truly appreciate and share all the things that give me pleasure. Creating things with fabric, cooking, gardening and making others happy.

Sort:  

Welcome and Thank You for being with us!! Following your Blog now

Welcome and Thank You for being with us!! Following your Blog now

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66512.58
ETH 3313.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68